- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Seguin says seven: Bruins stay alive

Posted By DJ Bean On April 22, 2012 @ 6:22 pm In General | 1 Comment

WASHINGTON — It wasn’t pretty, but the Bruins found their way to Game 7.

After blowing three separate one-goal leads, the Bruins were redeemed by a Tyler Seguin [1] goal 3:17 into overtime to give them a 4-3 win Sunday and force a Game 7 with the Capitals, which will be played Wednesday at TD Garden.

The game was tied at 2 late, and with the Bruins driving to the net, Andrew Ference [2] banged home a rebound off a Seguin shot to give the Bruins the lead shortly after the team had killed off a Benoit Pouliot penalty. The Capitals then tied it with less than five minutes remaining when Alexander Ovechkin beat Tim Thomas [3] following a Nicklas Backstrom faceoff win in the Boston zone. That set up Seguin’s OT heroics.

The Bruins had initially taken the lead in the first period on a goal from Rich Peverley [4]. Mike Green [5] tied it later in the period, and David Krejci [6] scored his first goal of the postseason to give the B’s a 2-1 lead after one. Jason Chimera tied it late in the second period before Ference eventually broke the tie.

Thomas made 35 saves on 38 shots in regulation, while Braden Holtby made 28 regulation saves for Washington.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

— The Bruins got a power-play goal for the second straight game when Krejci gave the B’s the 2-1 lead in the first period. With two goals on the man advantage this series, the 2011-12 Bruins scoff at last year’s 0-for-21 effort in seven games against the Canadiens. The Bruins finished the day 1-for-5.

— After a woefully quiet and frustrating first five games of the series, Krejci finally got one. Remember, he also went the entire first round last postseason against the Habs without a goal. That means Sunday’s second-period tally was Krejci’s first goal in the first round of the playoffs since April 26, 2010, against the Sabres, a span of 13 first-round games.

— After a poor showing in Game 5, Thomas was better for the B’s on Sunday. He came up especially big for the Bruins in the second period, when he made 14 saves in a period in which the B’s were outshot, 15-5. The best save of the day for Thomas came in the second period when he dove across his net to stop Marcus Johansson with the blade of his stick.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

Greg Zanon has had a pretty rough go of it this postseason, and his bad fortune continued on Green’s first-period goal. With Gregory Campbell [7] laying out to block a potential shot, Green waited until he had space before firing a shot from the left point at the bodies in front of the net. The puck went off Zanon and into the net, tying the game at 9:47 of the first period. The Zanon-Mike Mottau pairing did not play get another first-period shift following the play and got very few shifts afterward.

— Bergeron returned to the lineup, but he was clearly limited. He only took one faceoff in the game (which occurred in the final minute of regulation), instead deferring those duties to Rich Peverley [4]. As far as Bergeron’s game went, he twice committed the no-no of an offensive-zone penalty. Bergeron went off at 10:01 of the first period for tripping Karl Alzner and returned to the box at 15:44 of the second for high-sticking Alexander Semin.

— The fourth line also was on the ice for Washington’s first goal. Perhaps because of Bergeron’s injury, Claude Julien [8] played Jordan Caron in place of Shawn Thornton [9]. A potential reason for the move may have been that because Bergeron was clearly limited, the team would need another top-six-caliber forward should he exit the game once again.

— The Capitals got the game-tying goal on an ugly play for the Bruins. By the looks of how he went down, it looked like Brad Marchand [10] was elbowed by Chimera in the Capitals’ zone. While Chimera finished the play by scoring, the Bruins did not. Marchand went down to the ice, grabbing his head but getting no call. Replays showed that contact might not have been made, but Marchand did catch himself in the face with his stick when he spun.

— For the second straight game, Pouliot took an offensive-zone penalty in the third period of a tied game. Pouliot left his feet as he finished his check a little too late on Alzner at 8:50, resulting in a roughing call that gave the Caps a great opportunity. The B’s got through the two minutes safely, effectively killing off the penalty.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/22/seguin-wants-seven-bruins-stay-alive/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[2] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[5] Mike Green: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-green.htm

[6] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[7] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[8] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[9] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[10] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[11] > Seguin says seven: Bruins stay alive" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/22/seguin-wants-seven-bruins-stay-alive/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.