- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Tim Thomas stands on his head then tips cap to ‘coming of age’ goal by Tyler Seguin

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 22, 2012 @ 8:13 pm In General | 2 Comments

There’s no one on the Bruins who has handled pressure over the last two years any better than Tim Thomas [1].

He did it again on Sunday and thanks to that – and an overtime goal from Tyler Seguin [2] – the Bruins will play a Game 7 against the Capitals on Wednesday in Boston.

“Basically, believe that we can do it, that we’re going to come out on top. It only takes one shot and we’re heading back home for Game 7 to sum it up,” Thomas said after registering 36 saves in the 4-3 OT thriller at Verizon Center [3].

Thomas defines clutch in Boston sports right now. He is 9-2 in elimination games with a 2.01 goals against average. His last loss to end a season came in the double-overtime crusher of 2009 against the Hurricanes in the Eastern semifinals.

His latest clutch moment came in a 60-second span when he denied Marcus Johansson with his paddle, a la his classic save on Steve Downie in Game 7 of the Eastern finals against the Lightning last year, and then, less than a minute later, Thomas stoned Jay Beagle point blank.

“I pride myself on doing the best I can every night, and doing the best I can to help the team,” Thomas said Sunday. “Our backs are up against the wall so I was trying to help them out. Hopefully, I did, but they stepped up and helped themselves out, too. The whole team did.”

“You’ve got obviously Tyler Seguin [2], a coming-of-age goal there, an overtime goal. [David Krejci [4]] getting his first goal of the series. [Milan Lucic [5]], it may not have shown up on the scoreboard, but the fact he had that extra gear helped us out. [Rich Peverley [6]] again. All of us were there today and that’s what it took to come out of here with a win, and even having said that, it was hard.”

As for overtime, Thomas needed only to turn away one shot, a 53-foot shot from Beagle just 2:23 into the extra period.

“I’m not really feeling pressure like that,” Thomas said. “Yeah, it crosses my mind but I do my best to block it out as soon as possible and get into that mindset that you get into while you play the game, which is very little talk in your head. So, having said that, in the quiet times you realize that one shot, and our season is over. By the time the puck’s dropped, you better make sure you get that out of your head and you’re ready to make the save. More than hoping not to get scored on, I think you have to be ready to make the save.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/22/tim-thomas-stands-on-his-head-then-tips-cap-to-coming-of-age-goal-by-tyler-seguin/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[3] Verizon Center: http://media.weei.com/basketball/verizon-center.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[6] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[7] > Tim Thomas stands on his head then tips cap to ‘coming of age’ goal by Tyler Seguin" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/22/tim-thomas-stands-on-his-head-then-tips-cap-to-coming-of-age-goal-by-tyler-seguin/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.