- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Aaron Johnson eager to help Bruins however he can

Posted By DJ Bean On January 10, 2013 @ 5:36 pm In General | No Comments

WILMINGTON — While Nathan Horton [1], Rich Peverley [2] and Daniel Paille [3] were the most notable additions to Thursday’s informal practice at Ristuccia Arena, there was one more new guy in attendance. An actual new guy.

Defenseman Aaron Johnson, who was signed to a two-way contract in the offseason after spending last season in Columbus, made his Ristuccia debut on Thursday, a day after going out to dinner with Shawn Thornton [4] and a number of other Bruins teammates.

Johnson, 29, was signed to be a depth guy for the B’s, but if Adam McQuaid (who is still recovering from blood clot surgery but has been on the ice in recent weeks) is unable to go at the start of the season, Johnson could be in the rotation for the B’s.

In 56 games for the Blue Jackets [5] last season, Johnson had three goals and 13 assists for 16 points and a very Blue Jackets-esque minus-12 rating. He said the Bruins weren’t the only option for him this offseason, but choosing them proved to be an easy decision.

“There was a number of teams, but I just think the experience here and the fact that they won a Stanley Cup [6] and still have a lot of those guys, I think it’s a great opportunity,” he said. “I’m just trying to come in and help as much as possible.

“I think the history speaks for itself here,” he added. “As soon as they came on the list, it was pretty much close the door and sign the contract because when a team like this comes along, you want to jump in and be a part of it.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/01/10/aaron-johnson-eager-to-help-bruins-however-he-can/

URLs in this post:

[1] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[2] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[3] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[4] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[5] Blue Jackets: http://media.weei.com/hockey/columbus-blue-jackets.htm

[6] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[7] > Aaron Johnson eager to help Bruins however he can" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/01/10/aaron-johnson-eager-to-help-bruins-however-he-can/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.