- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Late charge: Zdeno Chara and Patrice Bergeron lift Bruins to win over Islanders

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 25, 2013 @ 9:35 pm In General | 4 Comments

Zdeno Chara [1] fired a wrist shot past Rick DiPietro with just under 13 minutes left in the third period to break a 2-2 tie, as the Bruins bounced back from their first loss of the season with a 4-2 win over the Islanders Friday night at TD Garden. Rookie sensation Dougie Hamilton added two assists and set up Boston’s fourth goal with a pretty outlet pass as the Garden crowd began to chant his name.

The Bruins overcame a two-goal night from Waltham and Chelmsford, Mass. native Keith Aucoin to improve to 3-0-1 in the young season. With seven points on the season, they also have gained a point in all four games.

Tuukka Rask [2] has started all four games and stopped 24 of 26 shots on the night to record his third win.

The Bruins jumped on top just under five minutes into the game when Shawn Thornton [3] collected a loose puck and put it past DiPietro.┬áHamilton set up the goal when he took a shot from the right point that deflected off the stick of Daniel Paille [4]. DiPietro couldn’t control the shot and Thornton was in the right spot on the doorstep for his first goal of the season and Hamilton’s second NHL [5] point.

The Islanders tied it six minutes later when the red-hot Aucoin took a pass from Colin McDonald from the side of the net and put it past Rask.

The first period featured a fight between Milan Lucic [6] in which the Bruins leveled Matt Carkner with a right cross, getting the Friday night Garden crowd into the game.

The Islanders opened the second period on the power play. While they couldn’t score, they used the advantage to gain momentum of the game. That proved productive when Rask and the Bruins allowed a loose puck to bounce uncontrolled to the high slot. Aucoin was in the right spot at the right time again and blasted a slap shot past Rask at 9:50 of the period for an unassisted goal, his second of the game and third in two nights.

The Bruins used good fortune to gain the equalizer four minutes later when David Krejci [7] threw a puck on net from the far boards. The puck glanced off the skate of Islanders defenseman Joe Finley and onto the stick of Gregory Campell, who put it past DiPietro to make it 2-2 after 40 minutes.

With just under 13 minutes left, the Bruins regained the lead when Lucic took a pass from Nathan Horton [8] and fired a pass from the right circle to the tape of Chara. The Bruins captain snapped a wrist shot from the slot past DiPietro to give the Bruins the lead with 12:53 remaining. It was his first goal of the season and he pumped both hands in the air in relief after the goal.

Patrice Bergeron [9] added an insurance goal on a breakaway with 6:27 left in the third, his first of the season. The Bruins killed off two more penalties and are a perfect 16-for-16 on the penalty kill this season. That offsets their 1-for-17 performance on the power play. The Bruins and Islanders are the only two teams in the NHL [10] not to allow a power play goal this season.

Dennis Seidenberg [11] returned after a two-game absence due to a lower body injury.

The Bruins are off Saturday and Sunday before traveling to Carolina for a Monday night showdown with the Hurricanes in Raleigh. The Bruins return home Tuesday night for a game with the Devils at TD Garden. For more from DJ Bean and Mike Petraglia, including video from the Bruins, visit the Bruins team page at weei.com/bruins [12].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/01/25/late-charge-zdeno-chara-and-patrice-bergeron-lift-bruins-to-win-over-islanders/

URLs in this post:

[1] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[4] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[5] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[6] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[9] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[10] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[11] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[12] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[13] > Late charge: Zdeno Chara and Patrice Bergeron lift Bruins to win over Islanders" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/01/25/late-charge-zdeno-chara-and-patrice-bergeron-lift-bruins-to-win-over-islanders/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.