- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Patrice Bergeron helps Bruins past Senators in overtime

Posted By DJ Bean On February 28, 2013 @ 9:42 pm In General | 26 Comments

It needed video confirmation, but a Dennis Seidenberg [1] wrister from the point deflected by Patrice Bergeron [2] gave the Bruins a 2-1 overtime win over the Senators Thursday night at TD Garden.

The win improved the Bruins 13-2-2 on the season, one point behind the Canadiens, who have played 29 games this season.

All of the game’s regulation scoring came in the second period, with Nathan Horton [3] putting the Bruins on the board at 5:48 thanks to some good puck movement between he and Dougie Hamilton. The B’s allowed a rare power-play goal to Jim O’Brien [4] later in the period.

The Bruins will play two more home games this weekend, hosting the Lightning Saturday and the Canadiens on Sunday.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

Tuukka Rask [5] had a strong showing for the B’s, helping to keep the momentum on the Bruins’ side after Horton’s goal. Shortly after Horton gave the B’s the lead, Rask stopped Kyle Turris on a partial breakaway. Thursday’s game marked the fifth straight start for Rask.

– Horton’s goal was the product of both great execution and a bit of luck. After Milan Lcic pout in the work to keep the puck in the zone, Horton passed it to Hamilton at the right circle, who dished it back to Horton in front. Horton’s stick was being lifted by Zach Smith, so while he wasn’t able to get much on the puck, he was able to touch it just enough to change its direction and make for a bit of a changeup as it trickled past Lehner.

In picking up the primary assist, Hamilton now has five points over his last six games.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– The Bruins’ perfect penalty kill streak came to an end after 27 successful kills, and it ended in a rather preventable way. With less than 20 seconds left in a too-many-men penalty, the B’s allowed a long pass from Patrick Wiercioch to be completed through the neutral zone to give Kaspars Daugavins a breakaway. Rask made the save, but the B’s were unable to clear the puck in front afterwards, with O’Brien knocking it in to tie the game. Claude Julien [6] had David Krejci [7] and Nathan Horton [3] out at the end of the penalty kill.

– It wasn’t Chris Bourque’s best night, with an interference penalty with the B’s on the power play in the second period didn’t help matters. Even a good effort to dive and keep the puck in on a third-period power play ended poorly, as he knocked the puck off a Senators player and into the neutral zone.

– Speaking of special teams, the B’s were 0-for-3 on the power play, making them 0-for-26 on the man advantage at home this season.

– Boston had to spend the final 31 seconds of regulation and the first 1:29 of overtime on the penalty kill as the result of a Milan Lucic [8] penalty for closing his hand on the puck. The B’s came through, with trios of Zdeno Chara [9], Patrice Bergeron [2] and Dennis Seidenberg [1] as well as Chris Kelly [10], Johnny Boychuk [11] and Andrew Ference [12] coming up big in the overtime session.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/02/28/patrice-bergeron-helps-bruins-past-senators-in-overtime/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[2] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[3] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[4] Jim O’Brien: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jim-obrien.htm

[5] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[6] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[9] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[10] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[11] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[12] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[13] > Patrice Bergeron helps Bruins past Senators in overtime" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/02/28/patrice-bergeron-helps-bruins-past-senators-in-overtime/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.