- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins beat Maple Leafs to snap mini-skid

Posted By DJ Bean On March 7, 2013 @ 9:39 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins stopped their two-game skid Thursday night with a 4-2 win over the Maple Leafs [1] at TD Garden.

The B’s got goals from Patrice Bergeron [2], Tyler Seguin [3] (one even strength and one empty netter) and David Krejci [4] to improve their record to 15-3-3. With 33 points through 21 games, the B’s temporarily jumped to the top of the Eastern Conference, though the Canadiens (32 points) were leading the Hurricanes as Boston’s contest wound down.

Here’s what went right and wrong for the B’s in the win.:

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

- Bergeron and his line remain hot, as No. 37′s multi-point night means he now has 14 points over his last nine contests. Seguin made a heads up play in picking off a pass at the blue line in the final minute of the period and racing to the net. With Dion Phaneuf hot on his trail, Seguin was denied by Scrivens before the trailing Bergeron buried the rebound for his sixth goal of the season. In assisting both of Seguin’s goals, Bergeron made it four goals and 10 assists over his last nine games.

- You can’t mention the Bergeron line without mentioning Brad Marchand [5], who leads the team in goals but has been piling up assists of late. After notching only one helper over his first 12 games of the season, Marchand now has seven assists over the last eight contests. As for Seguin, he has 16 points in 15 career games against the Maple Leafs [1].

- Khudobin had a strong night for the B’s, frustrating Phil Kessel [6] in particular. Boston’s backup netminder made a great kick-save early on against Kessel and stopped him on the rebound as well. Later in the period, with the B’s shorthanded, Khudobin came across in time to get a leg on Kessel’s bid after Kessel tried to tap in a puck that had bounced off the end boards and in front following a shot from the point. Kessel was kept off the scoresheet Thursday and had a minus-1 rating.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

- Until Seguin’s empty netter, the B’s were on the verge of being outscored in the third period for the third straight game. The Bruins had a two-goal lead going into the third, so they were able to escape with the win despite the goal from Mikhail Grabovski that brought Toronto within one in the final minutes.

- Krejci redeemed himself with his goal late in the second period, but his inability to handle a pass in front led directly to Kadri’s goal. He also turned the puck over at the point at the end of the Bruins’ next power play, but he got back to defend the 2-on-1, with Khudobin stopping Nikolai Kulemin.

- The Bruins were 0-for-3 on the power play, failing to make it a three-goal game when Dion Phaneuf and Colton Orr gave Boston two power plays early in the third.

Claude Julien [7] also tweaked the Bruins second configuration, putting Gregor Campbell with Rich Peverley [8], Zdeno Chara [9], Bergeron and Marchand.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/03/07/bruins-beat-maple-leafs-to-snap-mini-skid/

URLs in this post:

[1] Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[2] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[3] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[6] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[7] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[8] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[9] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[10] > Bruins beat Maple Leafs to snap mini-skid" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/03/07/bruins-beat-maple-leafs-to-snap-mini-skid/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.