- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

NHLPA approves realignment plan

Posted By DJ Bean On March 7, 2013 @ 6:36 pm In General | 9 Comments

The NHLPA has approved of the NHL’s realignment plan Thursday, with the Board of Governors next to vote to put the plan into action for next season.

In the proposed realignment, there would be two conferences comprised of four divisions (16 teams in the East, 14 teams in the West) instead of the current six-division system. The Bruins would be part of the new Central Division in the Eastern Conference along with the Red Wings, Sabres, Canadiens, Maple Leafs, Panthers, Lightning and Senators. The Atlantic Division would contain Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, New York’s Rangers and Islanders, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington.

In the West, the new Pacific Division will feature Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose and Vancouver. Finally, the Midwest Division will be made up of Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg.

Click here [1] for more information on the realignment plan.

For more on the Bruins and the NHL, visit weei.com/bruins [2].

Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/03/07/nhlpa-approves-realignment-plan/

URLs in this post:

[1] Click here: http://weei.stats.com/nhl/story.asp?i=20130307182234936746108&ref=hea&tm=&src=

[2] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[3] > NHLPA approves realignment plan" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/03/07/nhlpa-approves-realignment-plan/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[4]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.