Big Bad Blog AT&T Blog Network

Board of Governors approves realignment

03.14.13 at 12:36 pm ET

The NHL’s Board of Governors approved the league’s realignment plan Thursday, making the plans for a new two-conference, four-division system official.

The league will consist of 16 teams in the East and 14 teams in the West, with each conference containing two divisions. The divisions have yet to be named.

The Bruins will play in one of the East’s divisions with the Red Wings, Sabres, Canadiens, Maple Leafs, Panthers, Lightning and Senators. The other division in the East will consist of Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, the Rangers, the Islanders, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington.

Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose and Vancouver will play in one of the West’s divisions, with the other being made up of Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg.

For more on the NHL and the Bruins, visit

Bruins Box Score
Bruins Schedule

Latest from Bleacher Report

Bruins Headlines
NHL Headlines