- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Trade loss: With Jarome Iginla rumors swirling, B’s blow lead, lose shootout to Habs

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 27, 2013 @ 10:37 pm In General | 30 Comments

Brendan Gallagher scored the decisive goal in the sixth round of the shootout as the Canadiens beat the Bruins, 6-5, in overtime Wednesday night at TD Garden. Gallagher also scored once in the third period before the Canadiens tied it with 8.2 seconds left in regulation. The Bruins had a pair of two-goal leads but couldn’t hold on, as they fell a point behind the Canadiens in the Northeast Division. The Bruins went 0-for-6 in the shootout while Gallagher was the only Canadien to score in six tries.

Patrice Bergeron [1] scored a goal and added three assists while Tyler Seguin [2] added a goal and two assists

With his team battling for the top spot in the Northeast Division six floors below, Bruins president Cam Neely [3] went back and forth on the ninth floor, shadowed by security. This led to speculation about whether the Bruins might be ready to pull the trigger on a major trade for Calgary Flames [4] star Jarome Iginla, who was scratched from his game Wednesday night, the first game the 35-year-old has missed since Feb. 2007.

For a second straight game, Claude Julien [5] juggled his lines at the start before reverting midway through the game. And, for the second straight game against a division rival, the Bruins came out flat in the first period. They were held without a shot for the first eight minutes of the game.

With the exception of Seguin, the Canadiens generated most of the energy on the ice in the opening 20 minutes. It paid off for the visitors when former Bruin Michael Ryder [6] got enough on a snap shot from the low slot and beat Tuukka Rask [7] just 4:15 into the game for a 1-0 lead.

The Canadiens appeared to be in the driver’s seat when arch-nemesis P.K. Subban blasted a slap shot from the right point through a screen and past Rask 2:53 into the second period for a 2-0 lead.

Despite falling behind for the fourth straight game, the Bruins did not panic. And as they did on Monday, when they also fell behind by two goals at the start to the Maple Leafs, the Bruins woke up just in time.

It was a rush from Seguin that got things going 30 seconds after the Subban goal. Seguin came flying down the right wing and fired a shot off the crossbar. The puck came down in front of Bergeron. He couldn’t put it in the open net but Dougie Hamilton was in the right place at the right time and drilled a one-timer from between the circles past Price and the comeback was on.

Less than four minutes later, with Julien again rejoining his regular lines, Marchand netted the game-tying goal by battling for position in front of Price and knocking the puck past the Montreal goalie. Marchand, who started the game on the third line with Rich Peverley [8] and Jordan Caron, was reunited with Bergeron and Seguin. It was Seguin who won the battle in the corner and fired the puck in front of the net for Marchand.

After Lars Eller hauled down Shawn Thornton [9] on a rush down the left wing, the Bruins went on the power play. With 14 seconds left on the man advantage, Bergeron potted his 10th of the season to put the Bruins up, 3-2. The play was set up when Zdeno Chara [10] fed Torey Krug, called up earlier in the day. Krug fired a shot from the right point. The shot deflected off Rich Peverley [8] in front and onto the stick of Bergeron who finished it off.

With the Garden crowd still buzzing, David Krejci [11] fed Nathan Horton [12] on a mini-break and Horton beat Price 35 seconds later for a 4-2 lead. After spotting the Canadiens the game’s first three shots in the opening seven minutes, the Bruins outshot Montreal 26-8 and finished with a 26-11 advantage after 40 minutes.

Price was pulled in favor of Peter Budaj to start the third. Andrew Ference [13] drew a hooking penalty and the Bruins had a power play but could generate little momentum. Then moments later, Ryder added his second of the night, drawing the Canadiens within one, 4-3, with just over 16 minutes still left in regulation.

With Hamilton in the penalty box for holding, Budaj kept the Canadiens in the game with a huge save on Gregory Campbell [14] on a shorthanded breakaway with 10 minutes left. Seguin then gave the Bruins huge insurance with a backhander to beat Budaj with just over eight minutes left, putting Boston up, 5-3. The Canadiens made it a one goal game again as the Seguin goal was being announced as Brendan Gallagher got a lucky bounce off the mouth Dennis Sidenberg and beat Rask with 7:42 left. The Bruins killed off their first five shorthanded situations, including an elbowing call on Chara with 4:40 left in regulation.

But a delay of game on Aaron Johnson with 1:27 left, led to a 6-on-4 with Montreal’s empty net. A shot from Subban deflected off the stick of Chara past Rask with 8.2 seconds left to tie the game. Andrei Markov was credited with the goal The Bruins got a power play with 1:20 left in overtime when Alexei Emelin was called for a hooking penalty. Krejci had one final chance to win it but Budaj smothered the shot from the right circle two seconds before the end of overtime.

The Bruins are off Thursday and Friday before visiting Philadelphia for a matinee with the Flyers on Saturday. For more, visit the Bruins team page at weei.com/bruins [15].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/03/27/trade-loss-with-jarome-iginla-rumors-swirling-bs-blow-lead-lose-shootout-to-habs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[3] Cam Neely: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-neely.htm

[4] Calgary Flames: http://media.weei.com/hockey/calgary-flames.htm

[5] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[8] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[9] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[10] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[11] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[12] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[13] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[14] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[15] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[16] > Trade loss: With Jarome Iginla rumors swirling, B’s blow lead, lose shootout to Habs" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/03/27/trade-loss-with-jarome-iginla-rumors-swirling-bs-blow-lead-lose-shootout-to-habs/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.