- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Patrice Bergeron leaves game, Bruins offer no update

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 2, 2013 @ 10:30 pm In General | 12 Comments

Patrice Bergeron [1] left Tuesday’s win over the Senators after colliding with Ottawa’s Colin Greening early in the second period and did not return. Following the game, Claude Julien [2] offered no update on his condition.

Replays showed that Bergeron hit his head on Greening’s elbow/forearm while Greening was attempting to shoot in the Bruins zone. Rich Peverley [3] took Bergeron’s place on the second line with Brad Marchand [4] and Tyler Seguin [5].

Bergeron, who has had three concussions in his career, left the ice and went down the tunnel following the collision. Bergeron’s last concussion came in 2011 against the Flyers.

Though Julien had no update on Bergeron and wouldn’t talk about the prospect of playing without him, Bruins teammates expressed concern for the reigning Selke winner.

“I haven’t talked to him yet, but we all know what kind of guy and what kind of player he is,” David Krejci [6] said. “We don’t have to talk about it. It sucks, but I hope it’s nothing serious and he’s going to be back in the lineup soon.”

For more, visit the Bruins team page at weei.com/bruins [7].

DJ Bean contributed to this report.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/04/02/patrice-bergeron-knocked-out-of-game/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[4] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[7] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[8] > Patrice Bergeron leaves game, Bruins offer no update" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/04/02/patrice-bergeron-knocked-out-of-game/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.