- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Picture perfect: Jaromir Jagr scores only goal, Tuukka Rask spotless in 1-0 win

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 4, 2013 @ 9:26 pm In General | 23 Comments

Jaromir Jagr was the main attraction but Tuukka Rask [1] stole the show.

Rask turned aside all 40 shots while Jagr scored the only goal in his Boston debut as the Bruins edged the New Jersey Devils [2], 1-0, Thursday night at TD Garden. The win was an important one for the Bruins, who improve to 24-8-4. Boston has 52 points and kept pace with first-place Montreal in Northeast Division. The Bruins trail the Canadiens by just one point heading into another showdown north of the border Saturday night.

Jagr finished with a team-leading five shots in 19 shifts, which including 19 minutes, 12 seconds of ice time. He also had one hit, one blocked shots and one giveaway in his first game with the Bruins since being acquired from Dallas on Tuesday. One game after allowing 47 shots on net in a 3-2 win over Ottawa, the Bruins allowed the Devils to fire 40 shots.

Fans were ready for the debut of Jagr early on Thursday night at the Garden. As he took the ice for the pre-game skate, fans cheered him, the last Bruin to take the ice for warmups.

Jagr’s debut included a standing ovation in his first shift, the third overall of the game for the Bruins. As was the case in the morning skate, Tyler Seguin [3] centered Jagr’s line with Jagr on the right wing and Brad Marchand [4] on the left.

His first period was active, if not productive. He was on the ice for six shifts, totaling five minutes, 58 seconds. He had two shots and a blocked shot but the game was scoreless after 20 minutes. The Devils, after getting outplayed in the first four minutes of the game, dominated the final 15 minutes, outshooting the Bruins, 17-6, for the period.

While all eyes were on No. 68 every time he stepped on the ice, Rask was the bigger story as he made big save after big save, including a pair of back-to-back right pad saves on Alexei Ponikarovsky and David Clarkson from the low slot midway through the period. Minutes later, Rask turned away Adam Henrique on blocker save.

The Bruins and Jagr finally broke through in the second period as a centering pass from Marchand ricocheted off Jagr’s left skate and through the five-hole of Martin Brodeur [5] just 80 seconds into the period for a 1-0 Boston lead. It was the 640th goal of Jagr’s career and 18th against Brodeur in 64 career meetings.

Six minutes later, the Bruins and their fans got a good look at another reason why management went out and acquired the 41-year-old veteran. When David Clarkson took an interference penalty, Jagr was placed on the power play for the full two minutes. He was stopped by Brodeur in close on a backhander and spent a majority of the time behind the net, though he did have one giveaway on the man advantage. Jagr was on the first power play unit with Zdeno Chara [6], Nathan Horton [7], Marchand and Seguin.

The Bruins applied serious pressure in the final two minutes of the second but Brodeur turned away Gregory Campbell [8] and Marchand to keep it a one-goal game.

Rask kept up the sterling play in the third, highlighted by another big pad save on Andy Greene with just under eight minutes left in regulation. Greene broke through the Bruins defense and had a clean look but Rask stopped the wrister in close.

The Bruins are off Friday before leaving for a Saturday night date with the Canadiens at the Bell Centre [9] in Montreal. For complete coverage of Jagr’s debut from the Garden from DJ Bean and Mike Petraglia, visit the Bruins team page at weei.com/bruins [10].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/04/04/picture-perfect-jaromir-jagr-scores-only-goal-tuukka-rask-spotless-in-1-0-win/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[2] New Jersey Devils: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-jersey-devils.htm

[3] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[4] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[5] Martin Brodeur: http://media.weei.com/hockey/martin-brodeur.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[8] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[9] Bell Centre: http://media.weei.com/hockey/bell-centre.htm

[10] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[11] > Picture perfect: Jaromir Jagr scores only goal, Tuukka Rask spotless in 1-0 win" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/04/04/picture-perfect-jaromir-jagr-scores-only-goal-tuukka-rask-spotless-in-1-0-win/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.