- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins practice with ‘heavy hearts’

Posted By DJ Bean On April 16, 2013 @ 12:05 pm In General | 1 Comment

WILMINGTON — After postponing Monday’s game against the Senators in wake of the Boston Marathon bombings, the Bruins took the ice Tuesday at Ristuccia Arena.

“I think it was one of those days when you practice with heavy hearts,” coach Claude Julien [1] said. “Obviously, we have a job to do and we still have to do our job, but I think our guys in there are proud of the city they represent, Boston. As much as it was hard to really go out there today and give your all, I think our guys did a good job. But practice is over and our thoughts are back to those people affected by it. Boston, for me personally and my family is a city we’ve fallen in love with. When you something like that happen, there’s no doubt it affects you as an individual, and even as us as a group.”

The B’s did some power-play work before beginning a full practice at 11:30. All players were accounted for, including Brad Marchand [2] (concussion). Marchand, who was skating for the third straight day, was in a green jersey with spare forwards Jay Pandolfo and Jordan Caron. A good sign for the B’s is that Marchand did not seem limited, taking contact for the first time since suffering his concussion last Wednesday.

The lines were as follows:

Gregory Campbell [3]David Krejci [4] – Jaromir Jagr
Milan Lucic [5]Patrice Bergeron [6]Tyler Seguin [7]
Daniel Paille [8]Chris Kelly [9]Nathan Horton [10]
Kaspars Daugavins – Rich Peverley [11]Shawn Thornton [12]

Extra forwards: Brad Marchand [2], Jay Pandolfo, Jordan Caron

Patrice Bergeron [6] was expected to be examined prior to Monday’s game, but he was not cleared given Monday’s events. Claude Julien [1] said following Tuesday’s practice that Bergeron is “highly probable” to play Wednesday, assuming there is a game.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/04/16/bruins-return-to-practice-3/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[3] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[8] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[9] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[10] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[11] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[12] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[13] > Bruins practice with ‘heavy hearts’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/04/16/bruins-return-to-practice-3/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.