- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Andrew Ference out for Game 6

Posted By DJ Bean On May 12, 2013 @ 1:04 pm In General | 7 Comments

TORONTO – Andrew Ference did not travel to Toronto is out for Game 6 against the Maple Leafs [1] with an undisclosed injury, Claude Julien [2] said following the team’s morning skate Sunday at Air Canada Centre [3].

Wade Redden, who missed Game 5 due to injury but practiced Saturday, was on the ice for Sunday’s morning skate and is a game-time decision for Game 6.

The injury statuses of Ference and Redden leave the Bruins in a tight spot, as both players are left-handed shots. Matt Bartkowski should be expected to play in place of Ference, but if Redden is out the Bruins will have to choose between Dougie Hamilton (a righty) and Aaron Johnson (a lefty who hasn’t played since March 30). Putting Hamilton into the lineup in place of a lefty in Ference proved troublesome in Game 2, as the B’s had to break up the Zdeno Chara [4]-Dennis Seidenberg [5] (both lefties) pairing in order to avoid playing Hamilton in an unfamiliar spot.

If Redden is able to play, it’s likely he would skate with Johnny Boychuk [6] on Boston’s second pairing, while Bartkowski would man the left side of the third pairing with Adam McQuaid. If Hamilton has to play, the B’s will not only have to break up the top pairing but also have two inexperienced youngsters on their back end.

For more on the Bruins, visit weei.com/bruins [7].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/05/12/andrew-ference-out-for-game-6/

URLs in this post:

[1] Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Air Canada Centre: http://media.weei.com/basketball/air-canada-centre.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[6] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[7] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[8] > Andrew Ference out for Game 6" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/05/12/andrew-ference-out-for-game-6/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.