- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Injured defensemen missing, Brad Marchand leaves morning skate early in pain

Posted By DJ Bean On May 16, 2013 @ 10:50 am In General | 6 Comments

Dennis Seidenberg [1], Andrew Ference [2] and Wade Redden all were missing from the Bruins’ morning skate prior to Thursday’s opening game of the Eastern Conference semifinals against the Rangers. Furthermore, left wing Brad Marchand [3] left the ice in pain about 20 minutes into the skate following 2-on-1 drills.

With the trio of defensemen absent (all with undisclosed injuries), the lineup looked as follows prior to Marchand’s exit:

Milan Lucic [4]David Krejci [5]Nathan Horton [6]
Brad Marchand [3]Patrice Bergeron [7] – Jaromir Jagr
Rich Peverley [8]Chris Kelly [9]Tyler Seguin [10]
Daniel Paille [11]Gregory Campbell [12]Shawn Thornton [13]

Extra forwards: Kaspars Daugavins, Jay Pandolfo, Carl Soderberg

Zdeno Chara [14] – Dougie Hamilton
Matt Bartkowski – Johnny Boychuk [15]
Torey Krug – Adam McQuaid

Extra defenseman: Aaron Johnson

If Marchand is unable to play Thursday, Daugavins would be the most likely choice to replace him in the lineup. Daugavins last played in Game 1 of the Eastern Conference quarterfinals against the Maple Leafs.

For more Bruins coverage, visit weei.com/bruins [16].

Mike Petraglia contributed to this report.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/05/16/injured-defensemen-missing-brad-marchand-leaves-morning-skate-early-in-pain/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[2] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[3] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[6] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[7] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[8] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[9] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[10] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[11] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[12] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[13] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[14] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[15] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[16] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[17] > Injured defensemen missing, Brad Marchand leaves morning skate early in pain" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/05/16/injured-defensemen-missing-brad-marchand-leaves-morning-skate-early-in-pain/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.