- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins choke away chance at sweep

Posted By DJ Bean On May 23, 2013 @ 9:56 pm In General | 47 Comments

The Bruins suffered what had to be their ugliest loss of the playoffs Thursday at Madison Square Garden, as they blew two separate leads in the third period and instead of sweeping the Rangers suffered their first loss of the series. Chris Kreider scored in overtime to give New York a 4-3 win.

The Bruins took a 2-0 lead in the second period on goals from Nathan Horton [1] and Torey Krug, but Carl Hagelin brought the Rangers within one on a shaky goal in which Tuukka Rask [2] fell down. Derek Stepan tied it in the third period after taking the puck away from Zdeno Chara [3] rather easily, and although the Bruins took the lead yet again on Tyler Seguin [4]‘s first goal of the postseason, New York tied it again on a power-play goal from Brian Boyle.

The series will return to TD Garden for Saturday’s Game 5, with Game 6 taking place in New York if necessary.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

- A too-many-men penalty right after regaining the lead in the third period of a closeout game? Win or lose, this game was going to be one of their more discouraging efforts of the season. To blow two different leads in the third period of a closeout game and take bad penalties in the process speaks to lack of focus. That was pretty apparent from the Bruins in the third period.

– The Rangers got away with one in the second period when Derick Brassard was the only one to drop his gloves. Brassard put both gloves on the ice in an attempt to get Brad Marchand [5] to fight, but Marchand didn’t oblige. It should have been a penalty on just Brassard, but nothing was called.

– For as solid as Rask had been in this series, Game 4 was easily his worst performance. Holy moly, was that Hagelin goal a bad one. It seemed like Rask simply lost his balance and fell down as he was trying to adjust with Hagelin and Johnny Boychuk [6] drawing nearer. Until that point, Rask had only seen six shots on goal, so perhaps that helps explain the shakiness of the play.

The goal also gave the Rangers new life, as the energy both on the ice and in the stands was perilously low following Krug’s goal, but Hagelin’s tally led to some lengthier trips to offensive zone for the Rangers.

– The Bruins might want to work on their drop passes, or at least read up on to when it’s practical to do them (like when a player on your team is behind you). Two drop passes led to turnovers Thursday night, with Adam McQuaid the culprit in the first period and Rich Peverley [7] making the error in the third.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– That’s now three goals in four games for Krug. Maybe now he has moved ahead of Matt Bartkowski in the pecking order for which youngsters stay un when the B’s get their injured defensemen back.

– In what’s been a rather dreadful postseason for Seguin, he had easily his most productive night of the playoffs with his third-period goal and the primary helper on Krug’s tally.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/05/23/bruins-choke-away-chance-at-sweep/

URLs in this post:

[1] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[5] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[6] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[7] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[8] > Bruins choke away chance at sweep" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/05/23/bruins-choke-away-chance-at-sweep/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.