- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins Thursday notes: ‘Minimal maintenance’ day for David Krejci

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 30, 2013 @ 1:28 pm In General | 1 Comment

WILMINGTON — David Krejci [1] was not on the ice on Thursday but coach Claude Julien [2] said it wasn’t that big of a deal.

“Maintenance, minimal maintenance,” the Bruins coach said as Krejci was given the day off.

Krejci was the only player not spotted on the sheet at Ristuccia Arena as the Bruins worked at a fast pace for 20 minutes with their power play and penalty kill units.

Andrew Ference [3], one of the team’s leading penalty killers, was back on the ice again and was paired with Aaron Johnson on one penalty kill unit. Julien said toward the end of his media briefing after practice that Ference has not yet been medically cleared by team doctors to play in games.

“I haven’t heard from the medical staff so I’d say the answer is ‘no,’” Julien said when asked about Ference’s medical standing as the defenseman attempts to come back from a left foot injury that sidelined him since Game 5 of the first-round series against Toronto.

Tyler Seguin [4] took Krejci’s spot on the power play with Zdeno Chara [5], Jaromir Jagr, Patrice Bergeron [6] and Milan Lucic [7] but the units were mixed and matched throughout practice as the team worked more on power play and penalty kill drills than concentrating on specific special teams combinations.

The Bruins will practice one final time on Friday morning at 10:30 at Ristuccia before taking off for Pittsburgh afterward. The Bruins play the Penguins [8] in Game 1 of the Eastern Conference finals Saturday night at 8 p.m. at the Consol Energy Center.

For more, including reports from Pittsburgh from DJ Bean, visit the Bruins team page at weei.com/bruins [9].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/05/30/bruins-thursday-notes-minimal-maintenance-day-for-david-krejci/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[4] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[8] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[9] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[10] > Bruins Thursday notes: ‘Minimal maintenance’ day for David Krejci" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/05/30/bruins-thursday-notes-minimal-maintenance-day-for-david-krejci/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.