- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Matchups, smatchups: Claude Julien not worried about Blackhawks lines

Posted By DJ Bean On June 12, 2013 @ 2:14 pm In General | No Comments

CHICAGO — Blackhawks [1] coach Joel Quenneville appears set to keep Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane separated to begin the Stanley Cup [2] finals, but the Bruins are confident they’ll be able to deal with the spread-out star power.

As Kane said Tuesday, the Blackhawks have a strong top six regardless of whether Toews and Kane are together. If they’re on different lines, that means Toews is playing with Marian Hossa, so the Bruins will have their hands full either way. Claude Julien [3] is confident the B’s can match up with the Blackhawks no matter what Quenneville throws at them.

“It doesn’t,” Julien said when asked about how Quenneville’s new lines impacts their preparations. “We just have to react to it in a way whoever is on the ice. Whoever is on the ice has to be aware of the other team’s players on the ice.

“In our system, everybody knows our game without the puck is important. I think that’s what has gotten us this far, we’ve respected that, back’€‘checked. Our numbers coming back have continued. Whether I have my fourth line out,you can talk about like [Chris] Kelly [4] and [Daniel] Paille [5], I don’t think anybody is worried about their game defensively, and Shawn Thornton [6] who has done a great job on that line as well. There’s a lot of trust in our coaching staff when those guys are out there, even when they put a top line on.”

The guess here is that Julien will counter the Sharp-Toews-Hossa line with the Zdeno Chara [7]-Dennis Seidenberg [8] pairing and the David Krejci [9] line, while putting the Patrice Bergeron [10] line and Andrew Ference [11]-Johnny Boychuk [12] pairing against the Bickell-Handzus-Kane line. Of course, look for Julien to find ways to get Chara out there against both lines whenever he can. Julien matches lines as well as anybody in the business, but at the end of the day it’s Chara who makes the biggest impact in matchups.

“That’s why I talk about the matchups up front. Not the end of the world,” Julien said. “You’ll probably see, as every other series, our back end matches up a little more aggressively than our front end.

“Joel already knows that, too, by the way.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/12/matchups-smatchups-claude-julien-not-worried-about-blackhawks-lines/

URLs in this post:

[1] CHICAGO — Blackhawks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chicago-blackhawks.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[4] Chris] Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[5] Daniel] Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[6] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[7] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[8] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[9] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[10] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[11] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[12] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[13] > Matchups, smatchups: Claude Julien not worried about Blackhawks lines" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/12/matchups-smatchups-claude-julien-not-worried-about-blackhawks-lines/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.