- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Pierre McGuire on M&M: Bruins ‘played with the heart of a champion’

Posted By Tim Healey On June 13, 2013 @ 8:08 pm In General | 1 Comment

NBC hockey analyst Pierre McGuire joined Mut & Merloni on Thursday afternoon to discuss Wednesday’€™s Game 1 of the Stanley Cup [1] finals and the ramifications of the Bruins’€™ marathon loss going forward [2].

Sure, the 4-3, triple-overtime loss was disappointing, McGuire said, but the Bruins don’€™t have much reason to be down on themselves going into Saturday’€™s Game 2.

‘€œBoston played with the heart of a champion, and I don’€™t expect it to be anything different [the rest of the series]. It could be a long, hard series,’€ McGuire said. ‘€œI saw so many positive things from the Bruins. I saw a lot of positive things from the Blackhawks. These are the two best teams. There’€™s no Cinderella here. Both of these teams deserve to be in the Stanley Cup [1] final.’€

What will be interesting is when the series shifts back to Boston for Game 3 Monday and the Bruins get the last line change before the game time. McGuire suspects Claude Julien [3] will match up Patrice Bergeron [4]‘€™s line with that of Jonathan Toews, and David Krejci [5]‘€™s unit with Michal Handzus.

Speaking of Bergeron’€™s line, McGuire also said Tyler Seguin [6] is a likely candidate to play with Krejci and Milan Lucic [7] should Nathan Horton [8] be unable to play. Horton left Game 1 during the first overtime and did not return [9].

McGuire also expects Seguin, who has five points (one goal, four assists) and is a minus-2 in 17 playoff games, to break out soon.

‘€œHe wants the puck. He wants to make a difference. His speed is very apparent, especially at ice level,’€ McGuire said. ‘€œFor those that weren’€™t at the morning skate [Wednesday], everything he shot went in. It was unbelievable watching him in practice. He was letter perfect with his passing and shooting. His skating is great. I just get the feeling he’€™s about the break out, I really do.”

McGuire gave much credit to goalies Tuukka Rask [10] and Corey Crawford, even calling Crawford ‘€œsuperhuman’€ in the first overtime,’€ and said while Torey Krug‘€™s crucial, third-period turnover was quite unfortunate, the defenseman can bounce back, just as the Bruins can.

‘€œIt’€™s a tough situation for a young player, an undrafted player, to go into the Stanley Cup finals,’€ McGuire said. ‘€œIt was an egregious turnover. Obviously it ends up in the back of the net. Nobody wants to see that.

‘€œBut I thought he got better as the game went along. I know they weren’€™t afraid to use him in overtime, and he had some good chances. They used him on the power play, too, with [Dennis] Seidenberg. He’€™s a young player. He’€™s going to grow. I think he’€™ll be better off with the experience. Was it his best game? No. Was it a terrible game? No. He just made one bad mistake.”

To hear the interview, go to the Mut & Merloni audio on demand page [11]. For more Bruins news, visit the team page at weei.com/bruins [12].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/13/pierre-mcguire-on-mm-bruins-played-with-the-heart-of-a-champion/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Bruins’€™ marathon loss going forward: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/13/blackhawks-win-extra-long-game-1-over-bruins/

[3] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[6] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[7] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[8] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[9] left Game 1 during the first overtime and did not return: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/13/claude-julien-offers-no-update-on-nathan-horton/

[10] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[11] Mut & Merloni audio on demand page: http://audio.weei.com/mut-and-merloni.htm

[12] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/teams/bruins/home

[13] > Pierre McGuire on M&M: Bruins ‘played with the heart of a champion’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/13/pierre-mcguire-on-mm-bruins-played-with-the-heart-of-a-champion/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.