- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Tuukka Rask shuts out Blackhawks as Bruins take Game 3

Posted By DJ Bean On June 17, 2013 @ 10:49 pm In General | 33 Comments

For once, overtime was not necessary between the Bruins and Blackhawks as the B’s took a 2-1 series lead in the Stanley Cup [1] finals with a 2-0 victory in Game 3 at TD Garden.

Tuukka Rask [2] picked up his third shutout of the playoffs (and the last seven games), as the B’s outplayed the Blackhawks in the most decidedly won game of the series thus far. Rask faced 27 shots, stopping them all .

The new third line of Chris Kelly [3] between Daniel Paille [4] and Tyler Seguin [5] was once again strong for the Bruins, scoring and drawing penalties. Paille opened the game’s scoring in the second period, and after drawn penalties from Kelly and then Paille, Patrice Bergeron [6] made it 2-0 with his second power play goal of the series.

Tempers boiled over late in the game, with Zdeno Chara [7] and Bryan Bickell going at it in in front of the net. As the two fought, Brad Marchand [8] and Andrew Shaw got tangled up in what was the hockey equivalent of Ross and Russ fighting in Friends.

Game 4 will be played Wednesday in Boston before the series heads back to Chicago for Game 5.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– Yes, it’s more impressive that the Bruins went four games without allowing a point to the likes of Sidney Crosby [9] and some of the Penguins [10]‘ other offensive stars, but let’s realize that they’re doing it to the Blackhawks too. Patrick Sharp’s goal in Game 2, which was assisted by Patrick Kane and Michael Handzus, is the only goal the Blackhawks have gotten out of their top-six this series. As a result, the top two lines have been in flux for the Blackhawks. That wasn’t helped by Marian Hossa’s absence due to what is believed to be an injury suffered in warmups.

Patrice Bergeron [6] is a man. In addition to his six shots on goal in the first 40 minutes alone, he went 19-3 on draws in the first two periods, including a perfect 8-0 against Michael Handzus.

– It would have been logical to think the Bruins would have a hard time winning the Stanley Cup [1] without Jaromir Jagr scoring, but his pass to Bergeron on Boston’s second goal was enough to quiet that talk. With Milan Lucic [11] set up in front of the net on the power play and Jagr at the bottom of the right circle, Jargr sent a saucer pass through Lucic to Bergeron at the bottom of the left circle. Crawford, like everybody else, thought he pass was headed for Lucic in front, so he wasn’t in position to stop Bergeron, who took his time before firing a wrist shot into the plenty of open net he had to work with.

It wasn’t all good for Jagr, has he had a comically bad drop-pass to nobody in the final five minutes of the game that made for an easy turnover as Kane and the Blackhawks took it the other way.

– The Blackhawks are just wretched on the power play. They had just one shot on goal in their two first-period power plays combined, and it was the Bruins who had more scoring opportunities during Thornton’s power play. Rich Peverley [12] had a scoring chance, Daniel Paille [4] nearly beat Crawford to the puck when the Chicago goalie came way out of his net and Brad Marchand [8] had a shorthanded breakaway in the final seconds of the penalty. He lost the puck while dekeing, which prompted him to break his stick on the bench afterwards.

– That third line is money, and I honestly don’t think there has been a stretch all season in which the Bruins’ third line has had two notable good games in a row. Paille had a heck of a game, getting to a loose puck from Bolland at the right circle and wheeling around to fire it past Crawford. He was rewarded for his season of strong offensive play by getting some power play time in the second period, and it was in the final 15 or so seconds on that power play that he drew a tripping penalty to set up the power play on which Bergeron scored.

Paille wasn’t the only third-liner to draw a penalty. Chris Kelly [3] beat Bolland to a puck and got cross-checked by Bolland in the offensive zone in the second period to set up the power play on which Paille drew his penalty.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– The Bruins aren’t playing their fourth line much this round, so they don’t need them taking penalties when they do get ice time. Both Kaspars Daugavins and Shawn Thornton [13] took roughing penalties in the first period and were bailed out by the fact that Chicago can’t score a power play goal. It was a forgettable night in general for Daugavins, who was called for offsides twice — including what would have been a breakaway when he got out of the box, but he put himself offsides. You don’t see that every day.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/17/tuukka-rask-shuts-out-blackhawks-as-bruins-take-game-3/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[4] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[8] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[9] Sidney Crosby: http://media.weei.com/hockey/sidney-crosby.htm

[10] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[11] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[12] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[13] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[14] > Tuukka Rask shuts out Blackhawks as Bruins take Game 3" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/17/tuukka-rask-shuts-out-blackhawks-as-bruins-take-game-3/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[15]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.