- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Stanley shock: Blackhawks score two late to win Cup in Boston

Posted By DJ Bean On June 24, 2013 @ 10:54 pm In General | 98 Comments

The Bruins saw their season end just like they saw it extended three rounds earlier: with a shocking flurry of goals and an unprecedented comeback. The Blackhawks scored two goals within 17.7 seconds in the final 1:16 of regulation to overcome a 2-1 deficit and win the Stanley Cup [1] on Boston’s ice.

Milan Lucic [2] broke a 1-1 tie with 7:49 remaining in regulation when he took a feed from David Krejci [3] from behind the net and buried it past Corey Crawford, but Bryan Bickell tied it with the extra attacker out and 1:16 remaining to stun the TD Garden crowd.

If that wasn’t enough, Dave Bolland then proceeded to bury a puck off a hit post with 58.3 left to seal Chicago’s second Stanley Cup [1] in the last four years.

The Bruins came out flying in the first period and were spotted a 1-0 lead on Chris Kelly [4]‘s second goal of the series. The goal, which came off a feed from Tyler Seguin [5], capped a very strong shift for Boston’s third line. Though the Bruins outplayed the Blackhawks significantly, in the first period, they paid for not scoring more when Jonathan Toews beat Tuukka Rask [6] five-hole on a 2-on-1 at the expiration of a Bruins’ power play.

The Bruins spent much of the game hampered by a Jaromir Jagr injury, as Jagr appeared to be hurt in the first period (taking only four shifts in the first 20 minutes) and played just two shifts in the second period. With Jagr out, Seguin and Rich Peverley [7] took turns on Patrice Bergeron [8]‘s line. Jagr returned for the third period, at which point the lines went back to normal.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– Kelly took a high-sticking penalty with 5:39 left in regulation and the B’s holding onto a one-goal lead. The Blackhawks didn’t get anything going in the first 1:35 of their power play, fortunately for the Bruins, and did not score, but that was only temporary.

– Much like the Blackhawks in Game 2, the Bruins didn’t get enough out of their dominant first period and couldn’t find a way to sustain it into the second period. The Bruins could have hit the first intermission with a larger lead, and when they returned from it the Blackhawks had found their legs and were able to pull equal in the second.

– Speaking of missed opportunities, the Bruins had four power plays and no penalties through the first 30 minutes of the game and went 0-for-4 on the power play. The B’s have been better in the Stanley Cup finals on the man advantage than in previous rounds, but they had the chance to really provide some distance on the scoreboard and failed to do so.

– The Bruins looked like the more banged-up of the two teams. Bergeron looked to be in pain on the bench in the second period, and the absence of Jagr wasn’t their only perceived disability. Lucic took an awful lot of faceoffs (and was quite good on them — he won seven of nine through the first two periods), while Krejci took six. That’s likely a sign that Krejci could have been dealing with something.

– Both teams had to deal with it, but the ice looked really bad at TD Garden. That’s no surprise given the weather, but there were lots of unsettled pucks and passes that jumped over sticks.

– A couple of whistles got in the way of chances for the B’s. First, Crawford took his mask off during a Bruins power play to get a whistle, and a play was blown dead after Shawn Thornton [9] hit Andrew Shaw in the face with a shot entering the Blackhawks zone. Shaw was down on the ice bleeding and the refs called the play dead. It cost Thornton a scoring chance, but everyone could have done without the Garden crowd booing while a guy is down and bleeding from the face.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– The B’s dodged a bullet in the second period thanks to a huge save from Rask in front. With Seguin in the box for hooking, Bickell nearly scored on a put-back, but Rask was able to get the top of his skate on it, redirecting the puck across the crease and allowing Chara to send the puck to Peverley before Patrick Kane could get to it.

– Give Claude Julien [10] credit for a bold coaching move that paid off in the first period. With a TV timeout following a strong shift from the Kelly line in which the B’s had some sound chances, Julien stuck with the line against Toews’ line. That looked like a very wise move when Seguin fed Kelly, who beat Crawford glove side.

– Lucic’s goal was scored stick side, a real rarity for this series. Given that Kelly’s goal was glove side, 12 of 15 goals scored this series beat Crawford’s glove.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/24/stanley-shock-blackhawks-score-two-late-to-win-cup-in-boston/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[7] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[8] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[9] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[10] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[11] > Stanley shock: Blackhawks score two late to win Cup in Boston" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/24/stanley-shock-blackhawks-score-two-late-to-win-cup-in-boston/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.