- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Barry Pederson on D&C: Bruins ‘are going to be a good team for a long time’

Posted By WEEI On June 25, 2013 @ 10:05 am In General | 20 Comments

NESN analyst Barry Pederson, in an interview on the Dennis & Callahan show, identified a number of roster decisions that now face the Bruins following their elimination in a Game 6 loss to the Blackhawks. Still, Pederson suggested that the team’s long-term outlook remains excellent.

With a number of young, still-improving talents like Tyler Seguin [1], Matt Bartkowski and Dougie Hamilton, Pederson suggested that if Boston can re-sign restricted free agent Tuukka Rask [2] and lock up Patrice Bergeron [3] — who now has one year left in his contract — to an extension, the team has the core to continue to build upon its run of two Stanley Cup [4] Finals and one championship in the last three years.

He emphasized the need for players like Tyler Seguin [1], Carl Soderberg and Jordan Caron to get stronger to help carry the Bruins through a 2013-14 season that starts in 13 weeks, but overall, Pederson pointed to a sunny outlook for a team that just endured a devastating defeat.

“[Bergeron] has got one year left on his contract. They’re going to have to get him signed up. Get Rask, of course, re-signed. And then they’ve got a couple of really big decisions, to me, with some warriors that have been with them for a long time. And it may be time for the organization to instill some youth,” said Pederson. “They’ve got a big decision with Nathan Horton [5]. He had a tremendous playoffs, especially early on. He’s going to be an unrestricted free agent. He’s got a concussion history so you wonder if someone else is going to come in and throw him one of those crazy offers. I would doubt it, so there may be a chance there.

Andrew Ference [6] to me, who’s been a tremendous warrior and one of those guys you could really count on ‘€¦ he may be one of those guys you may have to miss. You may have to move [Rich] Peverley [7], because you’ve got to make some room for the young D. … Guys like [Torey] Krug and Bartkowski and Hamilton showed you what they could do. I think you need that youth next year.”

Pederson suggested that the combination of talented players in their prime and a young wave of talent behind them gives the Bruins a very promising long-term outlook.

“I think [team president Cam Neely [8]] and [GM Peter Chiarelli] have done a tremendous job,” said Pederson. “They have their core. They have their identity. You get Rask sign up, maybe take a look at Horton, you get that youth implemented into your system and your lineup, and this is going to be a good team for a long time barring any injuries.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/25/barry-pederson-on-dc-bruins-are-going-to-be-a-good-team-for-a-long-time/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[4] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[5] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[6] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[7] Rich] Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[8] Cam Neely: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-neely.htm

[9] > Barry Pederson on D&C: Bruins ‘are going to be a good team for a long time’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/06/25/barry-pederson-on-dc-bruins-are-going-to-be-a-good-team-for-a-long-time/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.