- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Malcolm Subban to face P.K., Gregory Campbell out in preseason opener

Posted By DJ Bean On September 16, 2013 @ 12:35 pm In General | 5 Comments

WILMINGTON — All members of “Group B” with the exception of Gregory Campbell [1] are expected play in Monday’s preseason opener against the Canadiens. Bruins coach Claude Julien [2] said following Monday’s practice that Campbell, who has participated fully in training camp to this point after returning from a broken leg, is “close” to being able to play in games.

As for the goaltending situation, Julien said he plans to split Chad Johnson [3] and Malcolm Subban “50-50.” That means that Subban will play against his brother, P.K. Subban for the first time ever competitively. Subban’s parents will be at the game, but the 19-year-old suppressed his excitement quite a bit when asked about it Monday.

“It will be pretty cool, obviously,” Subban said. “I’m not too worried about it, though. I’m just focused on the game.”

Here is the group of players going to Montreal:

Forwards: Anthony Camara, Craig Cunningham, Alex Fallstrom, Rob Flick, Matt Fraser, Jarome Iginla, Nick Johnson [4], David Krejci [5], Milan Lucic [6], Daniel Paille [7], Carl Soderberg, Ryan Spooner, Shawn Thornton [8]

Defensemen: Matt Bartkowski, Tommy Cross, Torey Krug, Adam McQuaid, Kevan Miller, Zach Trotman, Ben Youds

Goaltenders: Chad Johnson [9], Malcolm Subban

For more Bruins coverage, visit weei.com/bruins [10].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/09/16/malcolm-subban-to-face-p-k-gregory-campbell-out-in-preseason-opener/

URLs in this post:

[1] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Chad Johnson: http://media.weei.com/football/chad-johnson.htm

[4] Nick Johnson: http://media.weei.com/baseball/nick-johnson.htm

[5] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[6] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[7] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[8] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[9] Chad Johnson: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chad-johnson-hockey.htm

[10] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[11] > Malcolm Subban to face P.K., Gregory Campbell out in preseason opener" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/09/16/malcolm-subban-to-face-p-k-gregory-campbell-out-in-preseason-opener/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.