- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins roster projection 2.0: Decisions to make with extra forward(s), backup goalie

Posted By DJ Bean On September 27, 2013 @ 10:43 am In General | 6 Comments

With the season-opener against the Lightning just six days away, here’s another projection of the Bruins’ lineup:

Forwards

Milan Lucic [1]David Krejci [2] – Jarome Iginla
Brad Marchand [3]Patrice Bergeron [4] – Loui Eriksson
Carl Soderberg – Chris Kelly [5] – Reilly Smith
Daniel Paille [6]Gregory Campbell [7]Shawn Thornton [8]

Extra forwards: Nick Johnson [9], Jordan Caron

It might be unlikely that they keep two extra forwards, but this scenario would at least allow them to avoid the risk of losing Johnson or Caron to waivers.

The two players who deserve to make the team as an extra forward are Johnson and Ryan Spooner, but it’s hard to imagine Spooner getting a shot. For starters, he wouldn’t be subject to waivers. Also, the only scenario in which he would play would be if a center got hurt, in which case the B’s could just call him up. They’re not going to play him out of position, as he’s never played there before and the Bruins have enough wingers.

Defensemen

Zdeno Chara [10]Johnny Boychuk [11]
Dennis Seidenberg [12] – Dougie Hamilton
Torey Krug – Adam McQuaid

Extra defenseman: Matt Bartkowski

No surprises here. In fact, maybe the biggest surprise was the fact that the B’s sent Zach Trotman back as early as they did. Trotman figured to be pushing Dougie Hamilton the most, and though Kevan Miller has played well, he isn’t taking Hamilton’s spot or replacing Matt Bartkowsi as the seventh defenseman.

Goalies

Tuukka Rask [13]
Chad Johnson [14]

Niklas Svedberg looked really good at points in Thursday’s overtime win over the Jets, but Johnson also had a solid start when he blanked the Red Wings last Saturday. If they’re even close to even, the job should go to Johnson since he’s on a one-way deal (making the same amount — $600,000 — no matter where he plays) and would carry a $600,000 cap hit at the NHL [15] level as opposed to Svedberg’s $1 million hit. Svedberg is also on a two-way deal, so it would be cheaper to have Johnson making NHL [16] money and Svedberg making AHL money as opposed to both players getting paid NHL [15] dollars.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/09/27/bruins-roster-projection-2-0-decisions-to-make-with-extra-forwards-backup-goalie/

URLs in this post:

[1] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[2] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[3] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[6] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[7] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[8] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[9] Nick Johnson: http://media.weei.com/baseball/nick-johnson.htm

[10] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[11] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[12] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[13] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[14] Chad Johnson: http://media.weei.com/football/chad-johnson.htm

[15] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[16] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[17] > Bruins roster projection 2.0: Decisions to make with extra forward(s), backup goalie" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/09/27/bruins-roster-projection-2-0-decisions-to-make-with-extra-forwards-backup-goalie/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.