- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins waive Nick Johnson; David Krejci, Carl Soderberg ‘day-to-day’

Posted By DJ Bean On September 29, 2013 @ 12:01 pm In General | 1 Comment

Both David Krejci [1] and Carl Soderberg were absent from Bruins practice Sunday, with the B’s placing forward Nick Johnson [2] on waivers just prior to the skate. The team made the move with the intention of sending Johnson to Providence, but he must clear waivers first.

Krejci missed Friday’s preseason finale with back spasms.

“Right now I would say they’re just day-to-day,” Claude Julien [3] said after Sunday’s practice. “Maybe as we move further it might be better. To be honest with you, with Krej it might be better.

“With Carl, I’m not sure yet, because the injury was suffered when he hit a rut the other night. It’s still up in the air as far as the seriousness of it. We had first deemed it minor and now it’s questionable.”

Johnson being placed on waivers means that the team’s roster is more or less set. Jordan Caron will be the team’s 13th forward, while the team will keep eight defensemen (with Kevan Miller the eighth).

Assuming all players are healthy, the roster should look like this for opening night based on the players currently on the roster:

Milan Lucic [4]David Krejci [1] – Jarome Iginla
Brad Marchand [5]Patrice Bergeron [6] – Loui Eriksson
Carl Soderberg – Chris Kelly [7] – Reilly Smith
Daniel Paille [8]Gregory Campbell [9]Shawn Thornton [10]

Zdeno Chara [11]Johnny Boychuk [12]
Dennis Seidenberg [13] – Dougie Hamilton
Torey Krug – Adam McQuaid

Tuukka Rask [14]
Chad Johnson [15]

Healthy scratches: Jordan Caron, Matt Bartkowski, Kevan Miller


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/09/29/bruins-waive-nick-johnson-david-krejci-carl-soderberg-day-to-day/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Nick Johnson: http://media.weei.com/baseball/nick-johnson.htm

[3] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[8] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[9] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[10] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[11] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[12] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[13] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[14] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[15] Chad Johnson: http://media.weei.com/football/chad-johnson.htm

[16] > Bruins waive Nick Johnson; David Krejci, Carl Soderberg ‘day-to-day’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/09/29/bruins-waive-nick-johnson-david-krejci-carl-soderberg-day-to-day/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.