- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins season preview: Defense/goalie projections

Posted By DJ Bean On October 1, 2013 @ 8:24 am In General | No Comments

Here’s the second installment of the player projections for the 2013-14 season, featuring defensemen and goalies. For a look at the forwards, click here [1].

Note: It’€™s silly to predict injuries, so all players’€™ projections will assume they play somewhere in the 75-82-game range. Extra forwards/defensemen aren’t shown given the uncertainty of whether (and where) they’ll play. 

DEFENSEMEN

Zdeno Chara [2]: 13 goals, 37 assists, 50 points

Chara wasn’€™t bad in the Stanley Cup [3] finals; he was hurt. When he isn’€™t hurt, he’€™s one of the best defensemen in the game. It’€™s as simple as that.

Dennis Seidenberg [4]: 5 goals, 22 assists, 27 points

It’€™s a contract year for the 32-year-old Seidenberg, so he’€™ll have plenty of motivation to perform. Depending on what happens cap-wise and given the Bruins’ group of young defensemen, this could very well be Seidenberg’s last season in Boston.

Dougie Hamilton: 10 goals, 20 assists, 30 points

Don’€™t forget how good Hamilton was at the start of last season. If he can sustain that throughout this campaign, the 10-goal mark is certainly within reach.

Torey Krug: 11 goals, 19 assists, 30 points

After what he did against the Rangers, people’€™s expectations of Krug might be a little high, but here’€™s what we do know: He can skate, he’€™s smart, and he’€™ll be on the power play. Points will find him.

Johnny Boychuk [5]: 4 goals, 15 assists, 19 points

Johnny Rocket turned into Johnny Wrist Shot last postseason. It will be interesting to see if his offensive success changes his regular-season approach.

Adam McQuaid: 2 goals, 9 assists, 11 points

McQuaid isn’€™t there for his offense, which actually makes him a logical defensive partner to balance out Krug.

GOALIES 

Tuukka Rask [6]: 54 starts, 2.20 goals-against average, .922 save-percentage

This isn’t a suggestion that Rask will take a step backwards performance-wise, but smaller goalie pads plus a Red Wings team that should score more than it did let season minus Andrew Ference [7] should equal more human numbers.

The only question regarding Rask there should be is whether he can physically handle a full season and playoffs, something he’s never done as a starter at the NHL [8] level. Rask did play 57 regular-season games and 16 playoff contests in the 2008-09 season for Providence, but he hadn’t played into late June in the previous season.

Chad Johnson [9]: 28 starts, 2.41 goals-against average, .912 save-percentage

The 27-year-old Johnson doesn’t have a ton of NHL [10] experience (10 games), but he’s been good at the NHL [8] level with a 1.97 GAA, .929 save percentage and a shutout. We’ll see how good a replacement for Anton Khudobin he ends up being.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/10/01/bruins-season-preview-defensegoalie-projections/

URLs in this post:

[1] click here: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/10/01/bruins-season-preview-forward-projections/

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[4] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[5] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[6] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[7] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[8] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[9] Chad Johnson: http://media.weei.com/football/chad-johnson.htm

[10] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[11] > Bruins season preview: Defense/goalie projections" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/10/01/bruins-season-preview-defensegoalie-projections/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.