- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Peter Chiarelli: Extending Dennis Seidenberg ‘pretty high’ priority for Bruins

Posted By DJ Bean On October 2, 2013 @ 2:38 pm In General | No Comments

With defenseman Dennis Seidenberg [1] entering the last season of his contract, Bruins general manager Peter Chiarelli said Wednesday that getting a deal done to keep him in Boston is a high priority and that he’s been in contact with agent J.P. Barry.

“It’s pretty high,” Chiarelli said when asked how he’s prioritizing re-signing Seidenberg. “We’ve had discussions and we’ll figure something out there.”

The Bruins have often re-signed their players during the season (Rich Peverley [2], David Krejci [3], Shawn Thornton [4] among others), and Chiarelli has often tried to get players’ new deals done before they even enter the final season of their contract, as he did three years ago when he inked Zdeno Chara [5] and Patrice Bergeron [6] to new deals right before the start of the season.

Seidenberg, 32, is in the final year of a four-year, $13 million deal.

For more on the Bruins, visit weei.com/bruins [7].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/10/02/peter-chiarelli-extending-dennis-seidenberg-pretty-high-priority-for-bruins/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[2] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[8] > Peter Chiarelli: Extending Dennis Seidenberg ‘pretty high’ priority for Bruins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/10/02/peter-chiarelli-extending-dennis-seidenberg-pretty-high-priority-for-bruins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.