- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins review: Carl Soderberg coming alive, Malcolm Subban fights

Posted By DJ Bean On November 10, 2013 @ 5:38 pm In General | 1 Comment

Reviewing the week that was in Bruins land.

This week packed a punch. From Tyler Seguin [1] and Rich Peverley [2] to Tim Thomas [3] (kind of) and then Phil Kessel [4], it was reunion week at TD Garden. The Bruins won two of the three games and now stand at 10-5-1 with 21 points on the season. They trail the Lightning (24 points in 16 games) and will take them on Monday.

WHAT HAPPENED

Seguin came back to Boston. We spoke at length with Peter Chiarelli about Seguin’s time here [5] and the trade
Loui Eriksson returned [6] to the lineup, as did Johnny Boychuk [7]
Peverley came back too, and he beat the Bruins in a shootout [8]
People booed the bejesus out of Seguin [9]. Why?
Claude Julien [10] corrected record about Tim Thomas [11] winning the Bruins a Stanley Cup [12]
Brad Marchand [13] finally scored as the Bruins beat the Panthers [14], who fired everyone after because the Panthers stink
Tuukka Rask [15] admitted that the consequences of him not being at his best are greater with the B’s a work in progress defensively [16]
The third line the Bruins had planned on having in the preseason finally got together and did well [17]
Panthers forward Jesse Winchester left his feet to elbow Chris Kelly [18] in the head and was suspended three games for it [19]
Scott McLaughlin gave his argument [20] against fighting in the NHL [21] and noted hits like Winchester’s need to be a priority
The Bruins beat the Maple Leafs, but with far less drama [22] than last time
Adam McQuaid was hurt in the win and is unlikely to play [23] Monday
As such, the Bruins will likely have three mobile defensemen in their lineup [24] against the Lightning

IT WAS A GOOD WEEK FOR’€¦

Carl Soderberg: The 28-year-old his playing the best hockey of his brief NHL [25] career. It’s been a combination of him being more comfortable in the league and his ankle not bothering him as much as it did when he first returned. He has points in two of his last three games.

Jarome Iginla: The 36-year-old was a beast Saturday against the Maple Leafs and has been — to this point, at least — a regular-season upgrade over Nathan Horton [26].

Milan Lucic [27]: The former 30-goal-scorer-turned-seven-goal-scorer tied his goal output of the lockout-shortened season when he notched his seventh goal of the season Tuesday against the Stars. It took him 46 games to get to that number last season.

Torey Krug: The undersized and over-talented blueliner still has his uh-oh moments defensively, and he’s going to have them. He’s also going to have weeks like this one, where he had goals in consecutive games.

IT WAS A BAD WEEK FOR’€¦

Brad Marchand [13]: He isn’t out of the woods yet. Despite finally scoring his second goal of the season Thursday, he had a bad turnover in a following shift. He was also passive along the wall Saturday in allowing the Leafs to create a 2-on-1. Things are looking up, but it isn’t smooth sailing just yet.

Zdeno Chara [28] (kind of): Only for Thursday. A bad line change with the Bruins holding a one-goal lead against the Stars against the Stars resulted in a Vernon Fiddler breakaway. Dennis Seidenberg [29] had to hook him, resulting in a penalty shot on which Fiddler tied the game. The B’s lost in a shootout.

Gregory Campbell [30]: The Merlot Line center has just one shot on goal over the last six games. His trio was also stuck in the Bruins’ zone for a while in the second period.

Claude Julien [10]: He did fine as a coach, but he got Tyler Seguin [1] and Tim Thomas [3] questions all week. He seemed to get sick of them in a hurry.

MEANWHILE, IN PROVIDENCE’€¦

Matt Fraser had four goals Friday in an 8-5 win over Hartford that also featured a hat trick from Craig Cunningham. I wasn’t there and didn’t see it, but considering the lack of suspension, Fraser celebrated his goal differently than Joe Thornton [31] would have.

Alexander Khokhlachev also scored in the game, giving him two goals in a three-game span after going without a goal in his first eight games of the season. With an assist Saturday and a goal Sunday, Khokhlachev seems to have found his rhythm after a quiet start.

Saturday’s 5-2 win over Worcester featured a pair of goals from Carter Camper, and last but not least, Malcolm Subban got in a fight in Sunday’s 6-0 Providence win over Hartford. Subban dropped the gloves against Hartford netminder Scott Stajcer for his first professional fight. His brother, P.K. Subban, has 11 career fights and a 12 in the preseason.

Fan videos of the fight can be seen here [32] and here [33].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/10/bruins-review-carl-soderberg-coming-alive-malcolm-subban-fights/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[2] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[5] spoke at length with Peter Chiarelli about Seguin’s time here: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/dj-bean/2013/11/04/closer-look-why-tyler-seguin-no-longer-bruin

[6] Loui Eriksson returned: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/05/loui-eriksson-johnny-boychuk-expected-to-return-to-bruins-lineup-vs-stars/

[7] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[8] beat the Bruins in a shootout: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/05/rich-peverley-steals-tyler-seguins-thunder-with-winning-shootout-goal-vs-bruins/

[9] booed the bejesus out of Seguin: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/dj-bean/2013/11/05/tyler-seguins-reception-boston-surprising

[10] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[11] corrected record about Tim Thomas: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/dj-bean/2013/11/07/claude-julien-right-tim-thomas-needed-bruins-too

[12] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[13] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[14] finally scored as the Bruins beat the Panthers: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/07/bruins-open-it-up-in-third-to-cruise-past-panthers/

[15] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[16] B’s a work in progress defensively: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/dj-bean/2013/11/07/safety-net-tuukka-rask-key-bs-get-their-bearings-defe

[17] finally got together and did well: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/dj-bean/2013/11/08/finally-together-bruins-third-line-scoring-carl-soder

[18] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[19] suspended three games for it: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/08/jesse-winchester-suspended-three-games-for-hit-on-chris-kelly/

[20] Scott McLaughlin gave his argument: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/scott-mclaughlin/2013/11/07/nhl-should-ban-fighting-it-needs-get-more-se

[21] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[22] far less drama: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/09/bruins-beat-maple-leafs-in-less-dramatic-fashion/

[23] hurt in the win and is unlikely to play: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/10/adam-mcquaid-missing-from-bruins-practice-2/

[24] three mobile defensemen in their lineup: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/10/offense-taking-over-defense-with-matt-bartkowski-ready-to-step-in-for-adam-mcquaid/

[25] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[26] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[27] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[28] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[29] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[30] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[31] Joe Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/joe-thornton.htm

[32] here: http://instagram.com/p/gjOtqeO8oi/

[33] here: http://instagram.com/p/gjN2AkzUnk/#

[34] > Bruins review: Carl Soderberg coming alive, Malcolm Subban fights" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/11/10/bruins-review-carl-soderberg-coming-alive-malcolm-subban-fights/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[35]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.