- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins score 3 power-play goals, pull away from Predators late

Posted By DJ Bean On December 23, 2013 @ 10:35 pm In General | 21 Comments

Bruins forward Jarome Iginla celebrates after scoring in the first period of Monday night's victory over the Predators. (AP) [1]

Bruins forward Jarome Iginla celebrates after scoring in the first period of Monday night’s victory over the Predators. (AP)

The Bruins scored a season-high three power-play goals Monday night as they beat the Predators, 6-2, in their final game before breaking for Christmas.

Jarome Iginla redirected a Zdeno Chara [2] shot past Carter Hutton just 1:16 into the game, with Matt Fraser scoring his first goal as a Bruin shortly after off a rebound that was bad enough for the Predators to replace Hutton with Marek Mazanek. The B’s made it 3-0 on Reilly Smith‘s second power-play goal in as many games.

The Predators got on the board in the second period with a Craig Smith [3] power-play goal and made it a one-goal game on Smith’s second of the game at 3:25 of the third, but the Bruins got two goals out of a 5-on-3 and subsequent 5-on-4 from Iginla and Carl Soderberg, respectively. Brad Marchand [4] made it 6-2 off a feed from Smith late in the third.

Ryan Spooner had three assists as he continues to get comfortable at the NHL [5] level. Tuukka Rask [6] made 29 saves in the win, which was the 400th of Claude Julien [7]‘s coaching career.

The Bruins will break for Christmas and return to action Friday against the Senators.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– Both power-play units have been very good, and the B’s weren’t so bad on the 5-on-3 either. With Chara back at the point on a third-period two-man advantage, the Bruins got a goal from David Krejci [8]‘s unit and then got Soderberg’s goal with Paul Gaustad still in the box. The goals came within 50 seconds.

– For the second straight game, the Bruins got a power-play goal out of Soderberg feeding Smith from the goal line. It was the fourth time the B’s have scored on that play, but perhaps the biggest takeaway with that goal is that the second power-play unit of Smith, Soderberg, Spooner, Patrice Bergeron [9] and David Warsofsky has moved the puck extremely well the last two games.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– With a second-period hooking penalty, Bergeron now has 15 penalty minutes in the last four games.

- It was nice to see Adam McQuaid back, but he ended up missing most of the first period after a fight on his second shift. McQuaid returned to the game late in the period, but maybe fighting isn’t the smartest thing for a player who should be easing his way back.

With McQuaid returning to the lineup, the Bruins elected to make Matt Bartkowski a healthy scratch and keep Warsofsky in the lineup. Bartkowski hadn’t looked great playing on a pairing with Dennis Seidenberg [10], while Warsofsky’s work on the second power-play unit probably was reason enough for the Bruins to keep him in.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/12/23/bruins-score-three-power-play-goals-pull-away-from-predators-late/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Iginla_Jarome-Bruins-12-23-13.jpeg

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] Craig Smith: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/craig-smith.htm

[4] Brad Marchand: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[5] NHL: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[6] Tuukka Rask: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[7] Claude Julien: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[8] David Krejci: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[9] Patrice Bergeron: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[10] Dennis Seidenberg: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[11] > Bruins score 3 power-play goals, pull away from Predators late" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/12/23/bruins-score-three-power-play-goals-pull-away-from-predators-late/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.