- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Dennis Seidenberg out for season with torn ACL/MCL

Posted By DJ Bean On December 28, 2013 @ 3:25 pm In General | 19 Comments

Bruins defenseman Dennis Seidenberg [1] is out for the season with a torn ACL/MCL suffered in the final minutes of Friday’s game, the team announced Saturday. The team also announced it has recalled Zach Trotman on an emergency basis and assigned goaltender Niklas Svedberg to Providence.

Seidenberg suffered the injury with about four minutes to play in Friday’s game when he got tangled up with Senators forward Cory Conacher. He left the ice in pain and did not return to the game.

Losing Seidenberg is obviously a massive blow for the Bruins this season, as he is regularly second on the team in time on ice and has been used the past three postseasons on a shutdown pairing with Zdeno Chara [2].

This season has seen the Bruins suffer a rash of injuries to the likes of Loui Eriksson, Chris Kelly [3], Dougie Hamilton, Johnny Boychuk [4], Adam McQuaid, Carl Soderberg and Daniel Paille [5], but Seidenberg’s injury is by far the most damaging to the team’s Stanley Cup [6] chances.

For more on the Bruins, visit weei.com/bruins [7].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/12/28/dennis-seidenberg-out-for-season-with-torn-aclmcl/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dennis Seidenberg: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] Chris Kelly: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[4] Johnny Boychuk: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[5] Daniel Paille: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[6] Stanley Cup: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[7] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[8] > Dennis Seidenberg out for season with torn ACL/MCL" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2013/12/28/dennis-seidenberg-out-for-season-with-torn-aclmcl/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.