- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Team USA Olympic roster announced; former Bruins Phil Kessel, Blake Wheeler make team

Posted By DJ Bean On January 1, 2014 @ 5:14 pm In General | 6 Comments

The 2014 USA Olympic hockey roster was announced Wednesday following the conclusion of the Winter Classic between the Red Wings and Maple Leafs.

As expected, no Bruins made the team, though former B’s Phil Kessel [1] and Blake Wheeler [2] did. Wheeler made the team over Bobby Ryan, who is perhaps the biggest name left off the team. The roster is as follows:

Forward: David Backes, Dustin Brown [3], Ryan Callahan [4], Patrick Kane, Ryan Kesler [5], Phil Kessel [6], T.J. Oshie, Max Pacioretty [7], Zach Parise [8], Joe Pavelski, Paul Stastny, Derek Stepan, James van Riemsdyk, Blake Wheeler [9]

Defense: John Carlson, Justin Faulk, Cam Fowler, Paul Martin, Ryan McDonagh, Brooks Orpik, Kevin Shattenkirk, Ryan Suter

Goalie: Jonathan Quick [10], Ryan Miller [11], Jimmy Howard


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/01/01/team-usa-olympic-roster-announced-former-bruins-phil-kessel-blake-wheeler-make-team/

URLs in this post:

[1] Phil Kessel: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[2] Blake Wheeler: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[3] Dustin Brown: http://audio.weei.com/tennis/dustin-brown.htm

[4] Ryan Callahan: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/ryan-callahan.htm

[5] Ryan Kesler: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/ryan-kesler.htm

[6] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[7] Max Pacioretty: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/max-pacioretty.htm

[8] Zach Parise: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/zach-parise.htm

[9] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[10] Jonathan Quick: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/jonathan-quick.htm

[11] Ryan Miller: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/ryan-miller.htm

[12] > Team USA Olympic roster announced; former Bruins Phil Kessel, Blake Wheeler make team" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/01/01/team-usa-olympic-roster-announced-former-bruins-phil-kessel-blake-wheeler-make-team/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.