- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

In case you missed it, Dougie Hamilton took a strange penalty

Posted By DJ Bean On January 10, 2014 @ 2:42 pm In General | 1 Comment

If you were asleep by the second period of Thursday’s game between the Bruins and Kings, you likely missed Dougie Hamilton take an unusual and ill-advised penalty.

At the expiration of a tripping penalty he had taken late in the first period, Hamilton played the puck as it was going by the penalty box. The issue was that both of Hamilton’s feet were still in the box. They remained there on an interference call until Justin Williams scored a power play goal.

Our pal Greg Wyshynski at PuckDaddy has a rather amusing blog on Hamilton’s infraction, in which he calls it the “dumbest penalty of the season” [1] and sites Rule 56.2, which one would figure should be common sense:

A minor penalty shall be imposed on any identifiable player on the players’€™ bench or penalty bench who, by means of his stick or his body, interferes with the movements of the puck or any opponent on the ice during the progress of the play. In addition, should a player about to come onto the ice, play the puck while one or both skates are still on the players’€™ or penalty bench, a minor penalty for interference shall be assessed.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/01/10/in-case-you-missed-it-dougie-hamilton-took-a-strange-penalty/

URLs in this post:

[1] “dumbest penalty of the season”: http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/nhl-puck-daddy/dougie-hamilton-takes-nhl-dumbest-penalty-season-video-132811289--nhl.html

[2] > In case you missed it, Dougie Hamilton took a strange penalty" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/01/10/in-case-you-missed-it-dougie-hamilton-took-a-strange-penalty/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[3]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.