- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins beat Canucks for first time since 2011 Stanley Cup finals

Posted By DJ Bean On February 4, 2014 @ 9:39 pm In General | 16 Comments

Though it didn’t mean as much as their last win over the Canucks, the Bruins beat Vancouver on Tuesday at TD Garden for the first time since the 2011 Stanley Cup [1] finals. The Bruins picked up a 3-1 victory, good for their sixth win in their last seven games.

Vancouver native Milan Lucic [2] made it 1-0 at 5:12 of the first period, with David Krejci [3] passing it back to him while on a 2-on-2 with Jarome Iginla. Lucic finished off the play by beating Roberto Luongo [4] stick side from the slot. Iginla added to the lead with a power-play goal off a feed from Zdeno Chara [5] in the second.

Newly acquired Canucks defenseman Raphael Diaz beat Tuukka Rask [6] with a slap shot on a waffling puck in the second at 11:28 of the second, but a Daniel Paille [7] breakaway goal off a stretch pass from Johnny Boychuk [8] increased the Bruins’ lead back to two.

The game was the third played between the B’s and Canucks since the 2011 Cup finals, with Luongo making his first start at TD Garden since Game 6 of the series. He was out dueled Tuesday by Rask, who made 27 saves.

Tuesday marked Chara’s last game with the team before he leaves for Sochi to be Slovakia’s flag-bearer in the opening ceremonies of the Olympics Friday. The B’s have two games left before the break, as they’ll play in St. Louis on Thursday and host the Senators Saturday.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

— Boychuk was a beast, starting the play that gave Paille his goal and providing a bruising presence. Boychuk found Paille coming onto the ice with the B’s stuck in their zone and sent a pass from the hashmarks of Boston’s zone to Paille at the Canucks blue line. Paille took it from there, beating Luongo low with a stick-side backhander.

That wasn’t all Boychuk did, as he used his body well on Canucks forwards, most notably crushing David Booth multiple times, including a massive hit along the wall in the Vancouver zone late in the second period.

The Bruins will need a couple more performances like that from Boychuk before the Olympic break, as the 30-year-old will be the elder statesman of Boston’s blue line for the next two games without Chara.

— Speaking of Chara, it was good for B’s to get two points in his last game with them before the break. The next two won’t be easy, as the B’s, who are already without Dennis Seidenberg [9], will be down their best two defensemen. David Warsofsky will play the next two games after being recalled Monday and sitting Tuesday.

— Though his line didn’t have the prettiest night, Paille continued to contribute. The tripping penalty he drew in the first period was the fourth penalty he’s drawn in the last four games, while he continues to use his speed (or, as was the case Tuesday, a fortunate line change) to create chances. Paille has eight goals through 48 games this season after registering 10 in 46 contests last season.

— Iginla has points in five of his last six games, registering three goals and eight assists for 11 points over that span. His assist on Lucic’s goal was the 600th helper of his career.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

Brad Marchand [10] missed out on a couple of goals in the second period. What appeared to be the Bruins’ third goal was waved off after it was determined Torey Krug obstructed Luongo. Krug was in front of the net and fell into Luongo as Reilly Smith took the puck behind the net and fed Marchand, with Marchand having half the net open with Luongo down. Luongo immediately argued that the goal should be disallowed, which it was.

Later in the period, Marchand hit the post on a backhand bid in front.

— Statistically speaking, Patrice Bergeron [11]‘s line has cooled off since its torrid stretch in mid-to-late January. The trio of Bergeron, Marchand and Smith now has gone four games without producing a goal.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/02/04/bruins-beat-canucks-for-first-time-since-2011-stanley-cup-finals/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Roberto Luongo: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/roberto-luongo.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Tuukka Rask: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[7] Daniel Paille: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[8] Johnny Boychuk: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[9] Dennis Seidenberg: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[10] Brad Marchand: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[11] Patrice Bergeron: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[12] > Bruins beat Canucks for first time since 2011 Stanley Cup finals" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/02/04/bruins-beat-canucks-for-first-time-since-2011-stanley-cup-finals/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.