- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins send Niklas Svedberg to Providence, Adam McQuaid gets day off as he looks to return Saturday

Posted By DJ Bean On February 27, 2014 @ 12:51 pm In General | 2 Comments

Adam McQuaid [1]

Adam McQuaid

WILMINGTON — The Bruins had an optional practice Thursday at Ristuccia Arena, with five forwards, five defensemen and two goalies taking the ice. The most notable absence was Adam McQuaid.

The Bruins sent Niklas Svedberg back to Providence Thursday, but Tuukka Rask [2] was back on the ice with teammates for the first time since the Olympics. Chad Johnson [3] joined him, with only Gregory Campbell [4], Shawn Thornton [5], Daniel Paille [6], Jordan Caron and Brad Marchand [7] taking the ice and all defensemen but McQuaid and Zdeno Chara [8] present.

David Krejci [9] and Zdeno Chara [8] are expected back on the ice for Friday’s practice, while Patrice Bergeron [10] and Loui Eriksson are being given Thursday and Friday off.

McQuaid has been skating nearly every day as he looks to return from his leg injury, so Julien said he was given the day off for rest. The team still considers him a possibility for Saturday against the Capitals.

“He was given the day off. He was a guy who skated even Sunday, when the guys had the day off. He’s coming along well, but he hasn’t been cleared yet, but [Saturday] is a possibility. Maybe he will, maybe he won’t. He’s day to day right now and we’ve just got to wait and see what he gets his clearance.”

For more Bruins coverage, visit weei.com/bruins [11].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/02/27/bruins-send-niklas-svedberg-to-providence-adam-mcquaid-gets-day-off-as-he-looks-to-return-saturday/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/McQuaid_Adam-Bruins-head-13.jpg

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Chad Johnson: http://audio.weei.com/football/chad-johnson.htm

[4] Gregory Campbell: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[5] Shawn Thornton: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[6] Daniel Paille: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[7] Brad Marchand: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[8] Zdeno Chara: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[9] David Krejci: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[10] Patrice Bergeron: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[11] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[12] > Bruins send Niklas Svedberg to Providence, Adam McQuaid gets day off as he looks to return Saturday" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/02/27/bruins-send-niklas-svedberg-to-providence-adam-mcquaid-gets-day-off-as-he-looks-to-return-saturday/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.