- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins beat Panthers as Andrej Meszaros scores in first game with B’s

Posted By DJ Bean On March 9, 2014 @ 7:43 pm In General | 8 Comments

The Bruins took over first place in the Eastern Conference with a 5-2 win over the Panthers Sunday. With the victory, the Bruins swept their season series against Florida and went a combined 9-0-0 this season against the Panthers and the Lightning.

The teams were tied at one goal apiece after two periods, but the scoring picked up significantly in the final 20 minutes. Torey Krug made it 2-1 at 7:38 of the third period, taking a feed from Brad Marchand [1] and beating Luongo with a nice finish in front. Shortly after Patrice Bergeron [2] extended the lead with a power play goal, Boston College [3] product Jimmy Hayes scored his second goal of the game to make it 3-2. Jarome Iginla etended the lead back to two with his 20th goal of the season and Chris Kelly [4] added an empty net goal.

The Panthers had initially taken the lead in the second period when Hayes buried a rebound past Chad Johnson [5]. The B’s tied the game less than three minutes later when Andrej Meszaros’ point shot went off Roberto Luongo [6]‘s blocker and in.

Daniel Paille [7] was lost for the game in the first period, as he took a big hit from Ed Jovanovski on his first shift and did not return to the game.

Meszaros played in place of Dougie Hamilton, who served as a healthy scratch. The B’s played their new defenseman on the team’s top pairing with Zdeno Chara [8] and on the power play.

The Bruins will resume play Wednesday when they face the Canadiens at the Bell Centre [9]. The game will mark Thomas Vanek’s first contest in Montreal since being acquired by the Habs prior to last Wednesday’s trade deadline.

For more Bruins news, visit weei.com/bruins [10].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/03/09/bruins-beat-panthers-as-andrej-meszaros-plays-first-game-with-new-team/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brad Marchand: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[2] Patrice Bergeron: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[3] Boston College: http://audio.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[4] Chris Kelly: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[5] Chad Johnson: http://audio.weei.com/football/chad-johnson.htm

[6] Roberto Luongo: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/roberto-luongo.htm

[7] Daniel Paille: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[8] Zdeno Chara: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[9] Bell Centre: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/bell-centre.htm

[10] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[11] > Bruins beat Panthers as Andrej Meszaros scores in first game with B’s" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/03/09/bruins-beat-panthers-as-andrej-meszaros-plays-first-game-with-new-team/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.