- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins beat Devils for 10th straight win

Posted By DJ Bean On March 18, 2014 @ 9:36 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins won their 10th straight game, as they picked up a 4-2 win over the Devils Tuesday at the Prudential Center [1].

Patrice Bergeron [2] scored the only goal of the first period, taking a feed from Reilly Smith and beating Martin Brodeur [3] five-hole. With the goal, Bergeron became the fourth Bruin to reach 20 goals this season. Smith will become the fifth with his next goal.

The early second period saw a quick flurry of goals, beginning with a Patrik Elias goal to tie the game on a 5-on-3. The Bruins responded in short order, with Brad Marchand [4] scoring a shorthanded goal 54 seconds after Elias’ tally. Fifty-nine seconds after that, Jarome Iginla scored his 556th career goal putting him in a tie with Johnny Bucyk for 25th on the all-time goals list.

Chris Kelly [5] would make it 4-1 in the third period, but Travis Zajac brought the Devils back within two just over two minutes later. The B’s would hold on to pick up the win, with Chad Johnson [6] improving his record to 15-3-1 on the season.

The victory allowed the Bruins to keep their distance from the Penguins [7] atop the Eastern Conference. The B’s continue to hold a five-point lead over Pittsburgh, though they’ve played 69 games to the Penguins [7]‘ 68.

Matt Bartkowski was made a healthy scratch, with Corey Potter making his Bruins debut a night after Bartkowski struggled vs. the Wild. Johnny Boychuk [8] missed his second straight game with a lower-body injury.

The Bruins will travel to Denver and will face the Avalanche Friday.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

- The Bruins have now gone nine consecutive games without allowing a first-period goal and six straight games without trailing. Winning is a much more manageable task when you don’t have to play from behind.

- There was some great passing between Andrej Meszaros, Bergeron and Reilly Smith on Bergeron’s goal. With the Devils in the midst of a line change, Meszaros found Bergeron at the blue line, who dished it back to Smith before going to the net. Smith returned the pass, with Bergeron beating Brodeur five-hole to finish the play.

- Speaking of passing, Torey Krug rifled a stretch pass down the ice to Iginla to set up the game-winning goal.

- Marchand’s goal was his fifth shorthanded tally of the season. He also drew a slashing penalty on Eric Gelinas in the third period during a shorthanded scoring chance to negate Dougie Hamilton’s second penalty of the day.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

- The B’s are still allowing more primo scoring chances than they’d like, and Dougie Hamilton was the only man back on a 3-on-1 that resulted in Zajac’s third-period goal.

- The Bruins saw the absence of Boychuk when they had to face a 5-on-3 early in the second. The B’s had Zdeno Chara [9], Patrice Bergeron [2] and Kevan Miller on the ice when Elias scored to tie the game, as Dougie Hamilton was in the box on a charging call.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/03/18/bruins-beat-devils-for-10th-straight-win/

URLs in this post:

[1] Prudential Center: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/prudential-center.htm

[2] Patrice Bergeron: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[3] Martin Brodeur: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/martin-brodeur.htm

[4] Brad Marchand: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[5] Chris Kelly: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[6] Chad Johnson: http://audio.weei.com/football/chad-johnson.htm

[7] Penguins: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[8] Johnny Boychuk: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[9] Zdeno Chara: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[10] > Bruins beat Devils for 10th straight win" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/03/18/bruins-beat-devils-for-10th-straight-win/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.