- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins recall Alexander Khokhlachev, Craig Cunningham, Justin Florek and Matt Lindblad

Posted By DJ Bean On April 13, 2014 @ 12:55 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins recalled four forwards from Providence on an emergency basis Sunday morning. Alexander Khokhlachev, Craig Cunningham, Justin Florek and Matt Lindblad will all join the team in New Jersey and be available for the team’s regular-season finale against the Devils.

Khokhlachev is the only one of the four who has yet to play an NHL [1] game, and as such, the 2011 second-round pick will in all likelihood make his NHL [2] debut. He has 21 goals and 36 assists for a team-leading 57 points in 63 games for Providence this season.

Florek played very well for the Bruins in a three-game stint with the team in January, scoring a goal and adding an assist for two points while subbing on the team’s fourth line. Cunningham and Lindblad each played one game apiece.

The forwards will be used both due to injuries (Daniel Paille [3] and Patrice Bergeron [4] both left Saturday’s game, while Chris Kelly [5] has missed the last two and won’t play Sunday) and perhaps for the sake of rest of other players. According to the Boston Globe, Bergeron, Paille, Kelly, Zdeno Chara [6], David Krejci [7], Milan Lucic [8] and Jarome Iginla did not travel to New Jersey.

For more Bruins coverage, visit weei.com/bruins [9].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/04/13/bruins-recall-alexander-khokhlachev-craig-cunningham-justin-florek-and-matt-lindblad/

URLs in this post:

[1] NHL: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[2] NHL: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[3] Daniel Paille: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] Chris Kelly: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] Milan Lucic: http://audio.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[9] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[10] > Bruins recall Alexander Khokhlachev, Craig Cunningham, Justin Florek and Matt Lindblad" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/04/13/bruins-recall-alexander-khokhlachev-craig-cunningham-justin-florek-and-matt-lindblad/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.