- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Tuukka Rask wins Vezina, Patrice Bergeron wins Selke on big NHL Awards night for Bruins

Posted By DJ Bean On June 24, 2014 @ 9:00 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins were well-represented among NHL [1] award winners Tuesday night in Las Vegas, as goalie Tuukka Rask [2] won the Vezina Trophy and center Patrice Bergeron [3] received a number of distinctions highlighted by his second Frank J. Selke Trophy in three seasons.

Bergeron also won the NHL [4] Foundation Player Award and finished fifth in Hart Trophy voting. He was also named as the cover athlete on next year’€™s NHL [1] 15 video game.

Zdeno Chara [5], meanwhile, finished second in Norris Trophy voting, with Chicago defenseman Duncan Keith winning the award for the second time in his career. Chara finished a distant second, as Keith had 68 first-place votes and totaled 1033 points while Chara has only 21 first-place votes and had a total of 667 points.

Shea Weber [6] finished just behind Chara with 638 points. He received more first-place votes than Chara, as Weber received 26. Chara received mostly second-place votes, as his 39 were more than anyone else.

With regard to the Selke, Bergeron, who led the league in Corsi and was second in CorsiRel, beat out Chicago’€™s Jonathan Toews (who narrowly won the Selke over Bergeron last season) and Kings center Anze Kopitar.

Bergeron received 112 first-place votes and totaled 1,283 points, with Kopitar (840 points) and Toews (624) finishing second and third, respectively.

In addition to his defensive prowess and strong work in the face-off circle (Bergeron finished third in the NHL [4] with a 58.6 face-off percentage), the 28-year-old tied for the Bruins lead with 30 goals.

Bergeron’€™s plus-38 rating was second in the NHL, with only teammate David Krejci [7]‘€™s plus-39 surpassing his mark.

As for the Vezina, Rask’€™s 103 points from NHL general managers surpassed Semyon Varlamov‘€™s 90 points and Ben Bishop‘€™s 32. Rask received half of the first-place votes.

Both Chara and Rask were named to the first-team NHL All Star Team, while defenseman Torey Krug was named to the All Rookie team.

Claude Julien [8] was fourth in Jack Adams [9] voting, with Peter Chiarelli finishing sixth in GM of the Year voting.

For more Bruins news, visit weei.com/bruins [10].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/06/24/tuukka-rask-wins-vezina-patrice-bergeron-wins-selke-on-big-nhl-awards-night-for-bruins/

URLs in this post:

[1] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[4] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Shea Weber: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shea-weber.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[9] Jack Adams: http://media.weei.com/hockey/jack-adams.htm

[10] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[11] > Tuukka Rask wins Vezina, Patrice Bergeron wins Selke on big NHL Awards night for Bruins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/06/24/tuukka-rask-wins-vezina-patrice-bergeron-wins-selke-on-big-nhl-awards-night-for-bruins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.