- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Dennis Seidenberg, Adam McQuaid, Chris Kelly skate as Bruins begin captains practices

Posted By DJ Bean On September 2, 2014 @ 12:58 pm In General | Comments Disabled

WILMINGTON — The Bruins began their informal captains practices Tuesday, and there was a strong turnout from current Bruins, future Boston hopefuls, ex-Bruins and plain old local NHLers.

Among the current Bruins on the ice were Dennis Seidenberg [1], Adam McQuaid and Chris Kelly [2], all three of whom were off the ice last postseason when the B’s made an early exit from the playoffs at the hands of the Canadiens. Seidenberg has long recovered from his torn ACL (he would have been available in the Eastern Conference finals had the B’s made it there), while Kelly is coming off back surgery and McQuaid is returning from quad and ankle injuries.

Other Bruins on the ice included Patrice Bergeron [3], Tuukka Rask [4], Loui Eriksson and Daniel Paille [5]. Among the Providence Bruins present were Zach Trotman, Justin Florek, Bobby Robins, Tommy Cross and David Warsofsky. One surprising face to see was that of 2014 first-round pick David Pastrnak. In the past, rookie camp invitees have not participated in captains practices.

The biggest name of the former Bruins present was Shawn Thornton [6], but he definitely wasn’t the biggest former Bruin in attendance. That distinction went to Hal Gill. Boston native and current Coyote Keith Yandle was also on the ice.

The informal practices, which are closed to the public, are expected to continue throughout the week. Rookie camp begins on Sept. 11, while training camp practices begin on Sept. 19.

For more Bruins news, visit weei.com/bruins [7].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/09/02/dennis-seidenberg-adam-mcquaid-chris-kelly-skate-as-bruins-begin-captains-practices/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[2] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[3] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[4] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[5] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[6] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[7] weei.com/bruins: http://www.weei.com/bruins

[8] > Dennis Seidenberg, Adam McQuaid, Chris Kelly skate as Bruins begin captains practices" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2014/09/02/dennis-seidenberg-adam-mcquaid-chris-kelly-skate-as-bruins-begin-captains-practices/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.